The Trial Wardrobe: Pangea Organics Oily to Blemish-Prone Skin Kit

 

DSC_0210
Pangea Organics is a difficult brand to find in Canada – I think I’ve only seen it in Pistachio, which is actually a stationery shop that also carries natural/organic brands, including nail polish brands such as as Butter London. Since there isn’t a Pistachio closeby, I forgot about the brand for a few years because I tend to buy my cosmetics from places where I can get points–I am a complete Sephora/Shoppers Drug Mart fiend.

But recently, I was browsing well.ca, which is a site that carries all sorts of brands and types of items, everywhere from makeup to household items, including many natural and organic brands, AND ships to Canada without any fuss or extra tariffs, etc. So I decided to make an order, including this mini set of Pangea Organics skincare items for oily to blemish-prone skin. They also have a kit for normal to dry skin for those so interested.

The kit comes with a scrub, a gel cleanser, toner, mask and moisturizer. Each of the products contains organically-sourced ingredients, which I like the idea of. I’m not 100% against having certain chemicals and things, but if they can be avoided, why not?

Anyhow, I have been using the kit since the beginning of July and this is how I incorporate them into my routine:

1)  Egyptian Geranium with Adzuki Bean & Cranberry Scrub
This is what I use first thing in the morning. I am generally accustomed to using a manual exfoliant 99% of mornings, just because I feel like it gets rid of all the dead skin and grime that has accumulated overnight. I find the texture of this scrub to be nice, not too chunky and not to fine. I gently work this into my face, avoiding the eye area and then rinse it off using lukewarm water. I find that it leaves the skin very soft, which I like.

2) Argentinian Tangerine & Thyme Toner
I love toner. I have about 4-5 of them kicking around at any given time, and this one is quite lovely. It has an herbal-fruity scent.. right, just like the name says, duh! I put a bit on a cotton pad and work it into my skin. It does also come with a spray top, but I prefer not to spray this one since I would like to avoid getting it into my eyes. I use this twice, daily.

3) Moroccan Argan with Willow & Rosemary Facial Cream
This product is strictly for morning-time use. It is supposed to help with oil control and calm surface inflammation. The consistency is a runny cream, which doesn’t bother me, though one does have to be careful when getting some out! It’s easy to overdo it.

4) Australian Wild Plum & Willow Cleanser
A gel cleanser that is also quite runny, I use this with my Clarisonic in the shower after I come home from work and remove all my makeup. I’ve tried dozens of so-called targeted acne cleansers, and while this one does the job, I don’t find that it’s any different from any of the others I have tried. This is also the first and only product I’ve used up from the set.

DSC_0204  DSC_0206

5) Japanese Matcha Tea with Acai & Goji Berry Mask
I’m not really too fussed about having three so-called ‘super foods’ all in one mask–it’s a bit of a marketing ploy if you ask me. Either way, I use this mask once or twice a week in rotation with the 4-5 other masks I have on the go. I leave it on for about 15-20 minutes, sometimes a bit more or less, and after I rinse it off it does leave my skin feeling lovely. It claims to make it ‘glowing and radiant’, and I’m honestly not sure about that part.

Overall, after almost a month straight of using these products (I use eye creams and serums outside of the range since they are not included in the kit), I am unsure if my skin is any better. I have had blemishes pop up but at this point I am doubtful that anything can keep the large, painful hormonal breakouts on my chin go away. I’ve been playing with a few different ideas of why I get them, and while they sometimes seem improved, I’m not sure how much of an impact my choice of products has upon them.

However, I will say that this kit is a good way to try new products and to pick and choose what works best. My favourites from the line and what I would consider re-purchasing in the full size would be only the scrub and toner. The mask is decent too but I already have masks that do similar things and leave my skin feeling soothed and smoothed.

I’m definitely left curious about the brand and plan on trying more things from them eventually. Have you ever tried anything from Pangea Organics, and what did you think?

Leave a Reply

