The Other Wardrobe Bits: Eye Creams

Eye creamsSince my previous post was about a skincare trial kit and I mentioned there were a few other bits and pieces in my skincare routine that weren’t filled by that kit. This would be eye creams and serums (later post(s) coming) – I should say that these are the same products I use and have been using recently since before I started using the trial and after as I finish the products from that kit.

Eye creams for me are something that are quite difficult to see the results of while I am still in my twenties. I have exceedingly dark circles but I don’t generally believe any claims that eye creams have of banishing those circles. I have tried a couple, and let’s just say that the concealer still gets gobbed on in equal amounts. For me, it’s just about trying to maintain the situation rather than really improve anything. I do believe there’s gotta be a product out there that can improve what I’ve got going on but I haven’t yet found it – perhaps it has to be through long term use and permanent wallet damage.

That being said, I do generally still splash out for eye creams as I think they can’t hurt and I have tried some really bad cheaper ones. Currently, I am using:

Origins Ginzing Refreshing Eye Cream, $30 CAD
In the day time I like to use this one since it is lighter and supposedly gives a brightening effect (never seen it). I do like the way it feels and it’s moisturizing, and doesn’t roll off in bits like some eye creams do when you try to apply concealer or makeup over top.

Kiehl’s Creamy Eye Treatment with Avocado, $56 CAD
This is the cream I use at night, because while most of my face is an oil slick, my under-eye area can get dry. This has the funniest colour and texture, which did take some getting used to, but it is one that definitely requires a patting motion, rather than a dragging motion, to apply.

I also use both eye creams on the top of my eyelids as well, as for some reason, I get plagued by dry, flaky eyelids every now and then. However, if I pile too much on, I get milia on my eyelids, which are extremely annoying and an obstacle to eyeliner. Any ideas on how to hydrate without clogging up the pores?

On the odd occasion, I also use the:

Nip + Fab Dark Circle Fix
This is an additional eye cream I have been using when I know I’ll be washing my face in 2-4 hours or doing something that may cause a lot of sweating (mmm..), but I still want to hydrate my eye area. I can’t recall how much this was as I bought it on sale at Shoppers one day, but it’s alright – a light gel/cream texture, and it sinks in quite fast. Half a pump will do both eyes quite nicely.

Leave a Reply

