The Other Wardrobe Bits: Serums

Serum-wise, pretty much everything in my skincare regime and anything I look at buying is targeted at brightening my skin and diminishing my acne scars. I scar VERY easily, and the combination really doesn’t help. Sometimes if I can feel a pimple coming I immediately slap on some kind of treatment (I will post about that later) and if I catch it early enough I can get it to reduce and go away, but even THOSE will scar. It’s fun, having so many friends on my face at the same time.

Bliss Peeling Groovy Facial Serum, $77 CAD
This is the very first acid-type brightening treatment I ever bDSC_0239ought and I am currently on my third bottle of the stuff. I discovered it about 4-5 years ago when I realized there were products on the market targeted at brightening and evening out people’s skin tones. My idea of ‘brightening’ at the time was the skin bleaches they sell in Asia to actually get lighter skin. Gross. Anyway, I digress. This stuff does work, I pat one pump on the areas where I need it after toner (everywhere except the eyeballs), and let it sit for a few minutes before applying moisturizer or anything else. I use this either day or night but usually in the day. It also tingles/burns if I have active acne on my face, of which I actually love the feeling, because it feels like it’s doing something.

Jurlique Purely Bright Treatment Serum, $70 CAD
This is a newer serum I’ve been using for the last 6 months or so. I was using it in the daytime, but I have switched to using it in the evenings recently bDSC_0242ecause it is a creamier serum, as opposed to the Bliss one, which is a watery-gel like texture. I do think that it works a little bit, but I highly doubt I’ll be repurchasing this one as there are many other serums I would love to try.  This is the first product I’ve ever tried from Jurlique and it’s definitely encouraging me to try other products from their line. I know scarring and hyperpigmentation are some of the most difficult things to get rid of, so it’s sometimes hard to tell if a product is working or not, especially as I am using other products in combination. However, I rarely repurchase skin care items (with the exception of a couple), and would like to try the Kiehl’s Dark Spot Corrector when I am finished with the Jurlique one. I’ve heard good things about it and after trialling it for 2-3 weeks a few months ago I did like it quite a bit.

Those are the two main serums I am currently using. Have you tried any of the products mentioned and what would you recommend for helping hyperpigmentation/acne scarring?

Leave a Reply

