The Haircare Wardrobe, Part I: What’s In My Shower?

So far I’ve posted only about my skincare routine. What about hair? You know the dead bits of keratin that hang around your face and make you look pretty? I have a fair amount of haircare products – but I rotate them all instead of piling on a ton of product in one go.
Also, I’m not one to normally splash out or spend loads of money on anything for my hair, although in recent months I’ve been trying to look more into natural options including sulfate-free shampoos, which tend to be more expensive than your standard $3 Herbal Essences (which, by the way, I do love occasionally… Mmmm).
I should also note I rarely ever re-purchase hair and shower products, just because there are so many out on the market and I love trying new things, especially if they are relatively inexpensive.

A quick rundown of my hair situation: it’s long-ish, straight-ish, very thick and I have a lot of it. I do wash it everyday because I have insanely greasy scalp, and having to look presentable everyday for 8 hours means that I can’t leave the house with slicked-back, smelly, unwashed hair.
Yes, I’ve tried dry shampoo. I hate it. I can’t get into it and save it for cases of extreme emergency.

Anyway, ramble done. Behold, my shower caddy:

DSC_0269

I’ll try to be brief about the top row of products, since they have nothing to do with my hair:
DSC_0279
Bath and Body Works Sweet Pea Creamy Body Wash
I don’t even think they make this anymore. A quick visit to the B&BW website shows the design of the bottles have changed, and this product didn’t even make the cut to the revamped line. Either way, this is something I got in a buy 3 get 3 free Sweet Pea rampage I went on about a year ago – I’ve finished most of the products in the line and hate all of them except for the hand soap. Will continue to use up, but will not repurchase. The regular shower gel version made my skin extremely rough and dry. Ugh – that’s all I have to say. To me, B&BW is pretty much only good for their candles and handsoap. So much for ‘bath’ and ‘body’.

First Aid Beauty Skin Rescue Deep Cleaner with Red Clay
More FAB stuff I decided to try – I’ve been using this for a few months and enjoying it. It does have a very interesting smell and comes out red and gooey, exactly what one wants to rub all over their face..! Jokes aside, it does seem to be working well so far. I find that it does not leave the skin stripped the way a lot of targeted acne cleansers do, so this is a potential repurchase.

Michael Todd True Organics Charcoal Detox Cleanser
This is actually part of a set I got from Michael Todd ages and ages ago. Having normally quite un-sensitive skin (what is the opposite of sensitive?), I was surprised to observe that such a deep cleansing facial wash left my face so scaly and sandpapery over time. So unfortunately, this is a no-go for me. However, I do keep it around to use as a very expensive body wash some days of the week.

Clarisonic Mia
Yes, I bought into the hype, yes, I have a lavender Clarisonic Mia. It’s lovely. I use it almost everyday with my First Aid Beauty cleanser and it is wonderful. Period.

So much for brief… The second row:

DSC_0270

Herbal Essences Naked Cleansing Conditioner
Something I decided to get after not getting on with dry shampoo. This type of product is quite difficult to get a hold of in Canadian drugstores, for some reason. I have scoured the aisles of Shoppers Drug Mart and Rexall more times than I care to mention, but alas, this was purchased on well.ca, my new trusty and go-to favourite website. About the product – I use 4 pumps of this throughout my scalp and massage it in. It’s weird at first but actually works quite well. I can’t use it two days in a row, or else the grease starts to creep up, but it’s great when I don’t feel like using two products, or I’m pressed for time, or if my hair isn’t actually that dirty or greasy, but I know I can’t prolong the wash.

The Body Shop Ginger Scalp Care Shampoo
This is not an everyday shampoo for me, but I do love this shampoo for those days when your scalp just feels dry and itchy. I don’t really have dandruff issues, but once in a while it’s nice to use something that has a bit of a zing. This is one I will 100% repurchase.

Organix Anti-Breakage Keratin Oil Shampoo
I love the Organix shampoos, and have been on a kick of trying all of them, ever since I went on a hunt for sulfate-free products. This is my fourth kind and not my favourite, but I do like it. I can’t speak to its anti-breakage properties, but it’s rich and smells good and generally leaves my hair feeling clean without the squeaky feeling.

Herbal Essences Honey I’m Strong Conditioner
Another nice-smelling product.. not much to say!

L’Oreal Total Repair Replenishing Mask
A more intense version of a conditioner, I leave this in my hair for a couple minutes and when I wash it out, it makes my hair feel soft.

The Art of Shaving Shaving Cream in Unscented
This is a jumbo sample of shaving cream which is amazing. You only need the smallest amount of this stuff and if you spend the time, it lathers up incredibly. All the men in my family are now on this and a full-sized tub of it literally lasts for years.

One thought on “The Haircare Wardrobe, Part I: What’s In My Shower?

Leave a Reply

