The Haircare Wardrobe, Part II: Treatments

DSC_0266

I don’t use a ton of styling products in my routine – I do own a can of hairspray I’ve had for about.. 8 years, and some gel for if I really want to slick back all those baby hairs (handy for exercising days, which are … increasingly rare), but these are the ones I use on the day-to-day.

Macadamia Oil Deep Repair Masque
I’ll be brief. You know the hype, you probably have a tub in your bathroom, it works, it smells amazing, it’s wonderful. The one gripe I have with it is the price – $55 in Canada for the bigger tub, when I’m pretty sure it’s $30-something in the US. I use this once weekly since it’s so expensive, and will definitely repurchase. Maybe next time I’m in the States.

Alterna Kendi Oil
The best hair oil I’ve ever tried. This is my second or third bottle of the stuff and it’s wonderful for my dry, damaged hair. I run a quarter-sized amount through my wet hair post-shower and the next morning my hair is all the more soft and manageable.

2Chic Avocado & Olive Oil Leave-in Conditioner and Styling Elixir
A natural option I’ve been trying out. Sometimes when my hair needs more moisture, or I am trying to conserve my Kendi oil, I look to either layer or replace the hair treatments I am using. This one is a light green gel/lotiony texture. 3-4 pumps and I’m good to go. Really liking it so far, after taking some time to get used to it. The only link I could find was for Amazon, but I bought mine at a health store; I’ve also seen it at Superstore.

Desert Essence Coconut Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector
Another natural option I’ve decided to try out. Almost out of this stuff–it smells absolutely wonderful, and the coconut scent lingers all day in your hair, practically doubling as a hair perfume. On the heat protecting front, however, I don’t think it’s as good as the Tresemme ones that I have tried before.

Haircare Wishlist: It’s a 10 Miracle Leave-in plus Keratin. Has anyone tried this and loved it?

Leave a Reply

