The Nighttime Wardrobe: Bedside Heroes

DSC_0291

This post can practically double as a “Youtube made me buy this”… but anyway, everyone has those essentials they need to slap on before bed to maximize moisturizing time. These are the three things that are quite simple and two of the three I’ve had variations of around for years, but the specific products I’m using now are things I’d never heard of but learned about from my various Youtube watchings. It’s incredible how when one person says a product is good, you suddenly -need- it in your life. Immediately.

Onto the products.

Nuxe Reve de Miel Lip Balm (link to feelunique.com – but I bought it at Shoppers for approximately $20 CAD)
Lip balm is the most important item of the three – I’ve always used some kind of lip balm before bed, Vaseline as a small child. But last year my lips went through a dry patch and I’d heard my favourite Youtuber, Essiebutton, sing the praises of this one, so I decided to give it a go. The Nuxe Reve de Miel lip balm is divine. It smells good and does its job, despite being a kind of gritty, thick texture. I’ve had this pot for almost a year and a half, and I probably haven’t used even 1/3 of it yet. This is something I do only use before bed, however.

First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream
Next, the other essential thing is some kind of lotion or hand cream. I can’t even tell you how many tubs of Body Shop body butter have served this purpose. I’d heard that Ultra Repair Cream could work wonders on chapped skin, and as I have extremely dry, peely skin around my fingers. I haven’t found that this has been any better than any other of the other forms of lotion I’ve tried, but it’s gently scented and a nice texture. I am unlikely to repurchase, but am liking it while it lasts.

Lush Tea Tree Water
A relatively recent addition to my bedside collection, I’d heard Elle Fowler of Allthatglitters21 talk about this as an anti-bacterial pillow spray. While I try to change my pillowcase relatively frequently due to my acne-prone skin, sometimes I will use this spray for when I can’t be bothered to physically change my pillowcase. I’ve been liking it so far, but I probably won’t repurchase as I can simply mix tea tree oil and water next time instead of spending over $20.

What are your bedtime essentials?

3 thoughts on “The Nighttime Wardrobe: Bedside Heroes

    • Yeah it works wonders! I’ve always had issues with acne on my right cheek due to the fact that I sleep on my side, so this is a good thing to use between pillowcase changes :).

      Like

  1. Pingback: 2014 Favourites: Skincare Products | The Face Wardrobe

Leave a Reply

