The Shopping Wardrobe: Sephora Haul

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

I just got back from a short trip to the States, and didn’t do any shopping like I wanted to, except for hitting up Makeup Central, a.k.a. Sephora. Prior to the trip I had made a list of things I wanted to buy and compared the Canadian and American prices – there are a lot of things that are marked up by a lot in Canada, so it’s 100% worth the wait if you can get to the U.S. To the products:

Clinique Take the Day Off Cleansing Balm, $28.50 USD / $35 CAD
My second tub of the best makeup remover I’ve encountered so far. Works perfectly for my oily skin, and takes off my waterproof mascara and eyeliner very easily.

Clinique Acne Solutions Clinical Clearing Gel, $17 USD / $20 CAD
I’m leery about this one, but it was a bit of an impulse buy – I received a sample of this from a Sephora order ages ago and found it worked decently. Through the years, salicylic acid has never really worked well on my acne, but I’ve found recently that changing up treatment products tends to work the best, since my skin tends to build up a tolerance to whatever I slap on constantly. Rotating benzoyl peroxide, clay, tea tree oil and adding this salicylic acid product works quite decently.

Sephora Sheet Masks in Green Tea and Pearl, $6 USD / $8 CAD
Haven’t tried either of these yet but I’m a huge fan of the sheet masks from Asia. The girl who recommended them to me said they were great, but I suppose that’s part of her job, so I have high hopes.

Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Foundation, $38 USD / $49 CAD
I am a relative newcomer to the foundation or anything of the liquid/cream face covering variety, but I was itching to try this one after hearing rave reviews online – plus it has more natural ingredients and is supposed to be decent for oily skin like mine. I got the shade Medium Honey, which is the medium with peach undertones. Haven’t cracked it out of its box, yet, but I’m really quite excited to try this as we transition into cooler weather.

Too Faced Natural Eye Neutral Eye Shadow Collection, $36 USD / $45 CAD
Really wanted to get this one for the mattes, but have not tried it as of yet. I will admit I bought in to all the hype online about this product as well, but it swatches beautifully.

Lavanila The Health Deodorant Travel Size, $8 USD / $14 CAD
Ever since the Body Shop discontinued their deodorant line, I’ve been floundering trying to find an aluminum-free deodorant. I’ve actually had my eye on this one for years but couldn’t justify the $$$ on deodorant. I couldn’t find the full-sized one in store, so I decided what the heck – why not try the travel size just in case!

Glamglow Supermud Clearing Treatment, $69 USD / $76 CAD
It did take a bit of self-convincing that I could spend a whopping $70 on a face mask, but since it has such good reviews online, and this one would be perfectly suited to my skin (out of all the Glamglow masks), so I am expecting fairly decent results from this. My only gripe so far would be the packaging! Why do they need to include a pound of cardboard with the tiny jar of product?!

Have any of you been to Sephora, or shopping, recently? What would you recommend?

3 thoughts on “The Shopping Wardrobe: Sephora Haul

Leave a Reply

