The Face Wardrobe: Autumn Bling

DSC_0213
Seeing as how my last post was about summer, why not have a post about the season we’re actually in?

I’ve seen a lot of autumn edits on YouTube and blogs around the interwebs – which I love. Fall is a great time of year because it’s when you can start incorporating a bit of shimmer into your daily routine. When the natural summer glow fades, it takes some more work to infuse some life into your skin – here are a few of my favourites:

1) Nail polish
Nail polish is one of the easiest ways to incorporate some autumnal bling. While I love chunky, holographic glitter, it’s questionable for the office, and incredibly difficult to remove. So I prefer more subtle shimmers, such as Zoya Feifei and the aptly-named Sephora by OPI Wild About Shimmer, which has gorgeous pink and gold shimmer and looks good both over a solid colour and by itself.

2) Cream eyeshadow
Not a type of product I ever thought I would be into, but after realizing that my oily eyelids eat powder eyeshadow for breakfast, putting a layer of cream underneath, or just sweeping a light layer on its own work quite nicely – no creasing or disappearing of eyeshadow at all. My favourite neutrals are the Maybelline 24/7 Color Tattoo in Bad to the Bronze and Clinique’s Chubby Stick for Eyes in Ample Amber.

3) Lippie
Since I’m not really a regular wearer of lipstick, and especially not the sparkly variety, I find that lip gloss is a great way to wear shimmer. Pictured is a recent purchase of mine, the CoverGirl Colorlicious lip gloss in Give Me Guava. I find the peachy shade + a helping of gold shimmer really helps to make lips look extra juicy. The only downside to this one is that it has a cloying, sweet scent, which I REALLY hate in lip products. An awesome alternative to this one, but I’m not sure if you can still get it anymore in stores, is Revlon’s Colorburst Lip Gloss in Peony. I recently lost mine, but it’s basically the same thing, just with a more intense colour and no scent (yay!).

What other ways have you found to work some autumnal shimmer into your daily look?

Leave a Reply

