The Nail Wardrobe: Halloween Edit

DSC_0273

Since Halloween is just around the corner (a very small corner at this point), and I’m not really one to go all out and get dressed up and party, but as usual, I’m excited to bust out the festive nail polish – that’s about as far as I go when it comes to holidays.

For the classic orange-and-black combo, one of the best I’ve found is OPI’s Nail Lacquer in Atomic Orange. It is just a standard bright orange – I’ve had this bottle for absolute eons, but it still hasn’t gone goopy. I find OPI is hit and miss for this but a great choice here for Halloween. A more sparkly, festive orange option is the Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear in 20 – Crushed. The formula of this one is incredible – dries fast, long lasting, etc. While I do have a standard black, I decided to include two that aren’t just black – the first is the Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure in Midnight in NY, which is a black with bits of micro rainbow shimmer. It’s so fine you can barely see it when you paint it on, or you need several coats, but it’s lovely without being boring. The less subtle version is Butter London’s The Black Knight, which has bigger pieces of pink and blue glitter.

For those who have girlier costumes or are just wanting to get festive, I’ve included a couple great options here. The first is a lovely liquid gold with some shimmer CoverGirl’s Outlast Stay Brilliant Nail Gloss in Golden Opportunity. Perfect for any party or pairing with a princess costume. The next is one that I only whip out for super special occasions. Chunky glitter is just too difficult to remove, and I find it often chips in huge chunks. But the dazzling effect is totally worth it once in a while – Sephora Formula X in Light My Fire is a gorgeous gold base with big and small pieces of rainbow glitter.

What will you be rocking on your nails this Halloween?

Leave a Reply

