The Festive Wardrobe: Holiday Lips & Nails

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Red is one of those colours that works year-round. But if there is one time of year that it’s especially fun and appropriate to pull off a red statement lip or nails, it’s around Christmas. I’m still a complete n00b when it comes to wearing red lipstick, but recently I’ve gotten more used to the idea and the colour on my face.

Here are a few of my favourites:
For lips – if you’re somewhat afraid of red lips (like me!), try starting with the Burt’s Bees Lip Shimmer in Cherry. It’s quite sheer, although buildable, and shimmer isn’t really my favourite in a lipstick type product, but this one works great for everyday, and is hydrating as well.
Stepping it up a notch is the Rimmel Colour Rush Balm in The Redder, the Better. I actually got this in a goody bag at an event I went to earlier in the year, and it’s quite a lovely formula. Like it says, it’s a balm, so it’s moisturizing, but it’s not shimmery, and it is extremely pigmented. You will get full on red lips using this without the drying finish of some more matte products.
The most intense of the bunch is the Stila Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick in Beso. I’ve found that liquid lipstick formulas are the longest lasting usually (no need for lip liner, even!), but they are very difficult to apply. This one I use with a lip brush because I find that the doe foot applicator is too clumsy to get around the cupid’s bow area and the sides of the mouth. But it’s a true red that packs a punch and will last quite a long time. Make sure your lips are in tip top condition before using something like this!
The last one is a bit different – it’s the Rimmel Moisture Renew Lipstick in In Love with Ginger. To people in the UK and US, this won’t be anything new – but to those of us in Canada, the Moisture Renew line just landed a few months ago, and you can’t buy this shade here. I bought mine while I was in Vegas after hearing ViviannaDoesMakeup talk about it, and love it. It’s very comfortable to wear, and the colour’s a bit different from your typical reds, which is great.

Nail polish-wise, I love red nails and I’ve picked a few options that should satisfy all of your holiday needs. For the classic creme finish red, I’ve chosen the Formula X Nail Polish in X<3Rouge, which was sent to me for spending far too much money at Sephora. They have a couple of other shades in the line that are similar. Pyrotechnic would be the closest I think, but every brand sells red nail polish, so rock your favourite one :).
A great pairing with a classic red, to make it even more festive, is the Deborah Lippman Nail Lacquer in 99 Luftballoons. It’s a beautiful multicoloured chunky glitter suspended in a fuchsia-red polish, which looks fantastic over red nail polish, or on its own. Just make sure you bring out the heavy duty nail polish remover when you want this one to be gone!
Lastly, one that I trot out every Christmas is the Sephora by OPI What’s Your Point-settia? Obviously this one has been discontinued now, but if you can find something similar, grab it. It’s a deep burgundy-red with gold micro-shimmer, and it takes a few coats, but looks fantastic and super festive.

What is your favourite way to incorporate a pop of red into your holiday look?

One thought on “The Festive Wardrobe: Holiday Lips & Nails

Leave a Reply

