2014 Favourites: Beauty Products

Favourites

Happy 2015 all! I thought I would kick off the new year with a medley of best/worst posts. 2014 was quite a year for me in terms of beauty products. I started using a few new products on my face, and expanded my makeup collection quite a bit, to the chagrin of my no-fuss, minimal products mother.

Having said that, there are also a few products I’ve been using for a long time before 2014 and remain firm favourites.

For face, I’ll keep it short and sweet – no surprise here as I have mentioned my love for the Hourglass Mineral Veil Primer, Benefit Big Easy, and the NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer, the latter of which were new releases this year and I fell in love with majorly. To apply these products, I did pick up a set of Beauty Blenders at the suggestion of a friend, which are completely worth the hype – I don’t need to rehash it all here, but it’s worth the extra time and money, believe me! A new addition to my makeup routine this year has been bronzer/contour. I picked up the Body Shop Honey Bronze Bronzing Powder in shade 3 and this works really great as both an all-over bronzer and contour – it’s become an everyday staple for my makeup routine. I am hoping to try a couple other bronzers/contours this year – any suggestions?

For my eyes, eyeliner is the most important part of my makeup routine – this one has not changed in years – the Stila Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner in black. Ever since I discovered it in 2011 (or earlier??), I have not stopped repurchasing, and at this point I am so used to using it that I’m not sure I’d be able to get used to a different pen/formula. Love, and will continue to buy forever. Another oldie is the Shu Uemura Eyelash Curler. Loads of ink has been spilled singing the praises of this tool, and it’s all true – the only eyelash curler I’ve used for over 4 years. You can buy it at Sephora in Canada, but strangely the brand is not on the US site. A new acquisition for me is and something I spent months researching, is the Lorac Unzipped Eyeshadow Palette. I was looking for a good neutral eyeshadow palette around Christmas of 2013, but didn’t go for any of the Urban Decay options because I refuse to buy a palette of which I won’t use every single shade. The Unzipped palette looked great to me and is a good mix of pink-toned shimmers and mattes, ranging from light to dark. It’s not one that many people talk about, but works wonderfully for me. The shadows blend nicely, and are super pigmented, which is great for an eyeshadow n00b like me. To apply these and other shadows, I finally caved and bought the MAC 217 brush, which has been a huge plus in figuring out how to define my crease (I’m still working on it!!). Lastly, for mascara, I’ve already got a post all about this one – the Marc Jacobs Lash Lifter Gel Definition Mascara – it’s great.

2014 was the year of the lip for me – the year I finally worked up the courage to start wearing bolder lip colours and start dabbling with lipsticks. The release of the Maybelline Colour Elixirs (shades Captivating Carnation and Nude Illusion are my faves) really helped the transition along, as their brighter shades are quite pigmented but very comfortable to wear and not as intimidating as a full-on lipstick. I would recommend these to anyone, from the makeup newbie to experienced lippie-wearer.

Nail polish has been a longtime staple in my wardrobe, and it should come as no surprise that my favourite find of the year was Essie’s Haute in the Heat. But I fell for more than just the shade – I am now looking to add a lot more from Essie’s entire line of polishes to my collection, as the first Essie polish I ever bought several years ago failed to impress, so I never bought anymore.

Lastly, I am not a huge fan of perfume. Something that they put in perfumes makes me sneeze and turns my sinuses all funny. I’m also not a fan of the scent of traditional ‘perfumey’ type scents, but ever since I discovered the Philosophy line of scents (Unconditional Love was my favourite last year), I’ve been somewhat turned. Love Sweet Love is a light, sweet, grapefruit scent that I wore a couple tiny spritzes of throughout spring and summer. Will continue to use, and next on my list? Loveswept. See, it’s an addiction!

What were your must-have makeup items in 2014, and what are you going to be looking to add or experiment with in 2015?

One thought on “2014 Favourites: Beauty Products

  1. Pingback: 2015 Favourites: Makeup | The Face Wardrobe

Leave a Reply

