2014 Favourites: Skincare Products

Skincare
Part two of my 2014 favourite products is skincare – I’ve tried as much as possible to include products I discovered and/or bought this year, although there are plenty of products I have been using for years and will continue to use. The products in this post are the ones that I was most excited to discover and gave me that aha! moment.

The first I have talked about before and was hyped up quite a bit on the internet. I didn’t really get into it until the summertime, but now I am a convert – Indeed Labs Hydraluron works amazingly well almost as a glue to help my moisturizer ‘stick’ more to my face. The Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate is another well-loved cult product that I also took a while to understand. I’ve had the bottle for a while and decided to experiment with the battling oil with oil approach. The first few times I tried it I woke up with an oily face and didn’t see any difference, so this one went back into the drawer for quite a few months. More recently, I have been battling a case of hormonal acne – you know, the big red ones that hurt like bruises. After exhausting several options, I applied some of this oil as a spot treatment, and when I woke up in the morning, the blemishes had gone down considerably. I now use this a couple times a week, sometimes as a spot treatment, sometimes mixed in with my moisturizer all over. Love.

Lurking in the back of the picture is a mini Urban Decay De-Slick Oil-Control Makeup Setting Spray. I’ve gone through an entire full-sized bottle of this, as well as a travel size of the All Nighter Setting Spray. I like both, but the De-Slick really makes your makeup stick, which is a must for me with my oily face.

For my lips, I’ve discovered that unfortunately, wearing lipstick requires quite a bit of maintenance, so that is where the Lush Popcorn Lip Scrub comes in. I actually prefer the Mint Julips flavour, but they’re both the same idea. After scrubbing, I apply a layer of the Nuxe Reve de Miel Lip Balm and my lips are good to go.

To remove my makeup, I really experimented with balms and oils this year – my favourite is the Clinique Take the Day Off Cleansing Balm, which is unscented and removes EVERYTHING, including waterproof eyeliner, mascara, the works. After that, I have a whole host of cleansers at all times (my favourite type of skincare product to buy), but the one I’ve found the most versatile is the Philosophy Total Matteness Cleanser & Mask – it is like liquid clay and has tiny granules that allow you to scrub gently. I also use this as a mask sometimes, and it works great as a spot treatment on blemishes as well. It appears they’ve stopped carrying the Total Matteness line at Sephora.com, but you can also find this in some of the bigger, fancier Shoppers Drug Marts.

For toner, the Michael Todd True Organics Blue Green Algae Toner has been quite a find – another product that has been raved about over and over on the internet, so I’ll spare you the boredom of re-reading it, but I will say it’s totally worth the money and what people say is true. It’s gentle, effective and generally wonderful. For eye cream, the Kiehl’s Creamy Eye Treatment with Avocado has also been a good one – I have started to use it morning and night and find it great either way. Because I’m still too young to see the results of eye cream, it’s difficult to say if this really works or if I will repurchase. Either way, one tub lasts for ages, which is great value for money.

Lastly, and most expensively, is the GlamGlow Supermud Clearing Treatment. It does everything it says on the tin and works great as a spot treatment (my way of using it without using it all up quickly!). If you have blemish-prone skin, I would recommend this one. I wouldn’t say it’s my holy grail, but it’s close and works fantastically well. I am dying to try the new cleanser that they have just brought out to go with the mask.

As you can see, the majority of my favourites have been recommendations from multiple people on the internet, which has been a great resource in my quest for the perfect skincare routine. One of these days I will do a post about my daily skincare routine / absolute must haves, but I thought I would use this post to first share the finds that have actually worked really well for me and I have happily added to my stash.

*Edit: I totally forgot to mention the Sephora Bottom’s Up Beauty Spatula lurking at the bottom of the picture! It has since been discontinued, but it has been a marvelous tool for getting at the last elusive bits of products that I’ve spent lots of money on. You can find similar makeup spatulas on Amazon – I would highly recommend!

What have your favourites been in skincare and what are your skincare concerns?

2 thoughts on “2014 Favourites: Skincare Products

  1. AWESOME review! Been dying to experiment more with skincare, especially lip therapy. Thanks for the suggestions!
    I’m IN LOVE with Glam Glow products! I own three of their masks and also the cleanser! Highly recommend! See a review in my blog conceitedkissbeauty.com
    The cleanser is a bit strange in that its part mask as well, but it has definitely helped maintain the oil factor!
    -cdubdoll

    Liked by 1 person

    • Great! I am also wanting to try the moisturizing GlamGlow mask – it looks insanely good. I just have to save up my pennies, or wait for a trip to the US where it’ll be slightly “cheaper”. The cleanser is sitting in my Sephora.com basket..

      Like

Leave a Reply

