2014 Flops: Disappointing Products

Disappointing
The last in my 2014 series is a bit of a more negative post, but we all have products we’ve tried and just hated or couldn’t make work. This is a roundup of some of the biggest disappointments I had product-wise.

For makeup, I had a lot of fails, especially in my quest for the perfect foundation. First, I got a mini of the Urban Decay Naked Skin Beauty Balm with the foundation set, and this absolutely didn’t do a thing. First, the colour is wildly pink (as opposed to the foundation being very yellow), and there is no coverage, so I wasn’t sure what it was supposed to do. Also, I tried The Body Shop All-in-One BB Cream in the shade 2, which starts out white but as you buff the product into your skin it changes colour to adjust to your skin tone. Neat concept, but even applied directly from the tube to my face, it changed to be several shades too dark for me, and it left my face extremely oily. Probably a formula intended for drier skin types. Lastly, the CoverGirl Ready, Set Gorgeous foundation in shade 205 Natural Beige was a huge disappointment mostly because I’d had high expectations thanks to a rave review of this. But I understand that everyone’s skin reacts differently to products, so it didn’t work as well for me as it did for her. I will continue to use it, but it definitely doesn’t control oil the way I wanted.

Underneath my base, I’ve also struggled to find a good primer I like. One I’ve had for a long time and only grudgingly use to try and get my money’s worth is the CoverFX Mattifying Primer with Anti-Acne Treatment. It feels greasy going on, the way a lot of primers feel to me, and it’s supposed to contain 1% salicylic acid to help treat blemishes. Honestly, I’ve never noticed a difference, so after I use this one up, I won’t be repurchasing. The other item I bought is The Body Shop’s Vitamin C Skin Boost, thinking it was a serum, but from its silicone-y texture, it’s clearly meant to be a brightening primer, which I really am not digging.

One of the most disappointing buys for me in 2014 was the Laura Mercier Smooth Focus Pressed Setting Powder – Shine Control, especially due to the price. It’s the first translucent powder I ever bought, but it doesn’t control my apparently uncontrollable oil, and a very light hand is needed, barely touching the brush to the powder, otherwise you’ll end up with a very white, powdery face. The last makeup item, which I won’t go on about since I’ve written about it before, is the Maybelline The Falsies Volum’ Express Waterproof mascara, which smudges all over the place on me within a couple hours – huge disappointment.

Skincare-wise, I am rarely super disappointed with anything because I put in major research into the products I buy, but there are a few I get every now that then that don’t live up to expectations. Firstly, the Nip + Fab Dark Circle Fix, that I’d posted about previously and said it was decent. Recently, I ran out of my Origins eye cream, so I decided to try using the Nip + Fab as a morning eye cream, but I quickly encountered problems when I’d try to apply my concealer and it would go on very lumpy and streaky. Throughout the day, I was getting very dry under my eyes as well, so this definitely is reserved for no-makeup days and I won’t be repurchasing. The next thing  I’m glad I got in a point perk is the Fresh Sugar Lip Polish, which is a major cult favourite, but I definitely think it’s overpriced and the Lush lip scrub is far more effective. It’s very creamy and not exfoliating enough, so if you need to get rid of some major grossness, I’d suggest the Lush, or making your own at home. Lastly, the Juice Beauty Oil-Free Moisturizer is one of the greasiest-feeling creams I have ever tried. It doesn’t absorb into my skin and it feels oily an hour after applying it. While I do enjoy other Juice Beauty products, I will be staying far away from the moisturizer.

What products disappointed you in 2014, and how? How do you decide to spend money on higher end items?

Leave a Reply

