Recent Drugstore Hair Favourites

DSC_0369
Haircare has always been a bit of a half-hearted venture for me – I don’t have a ton of issues with my hair and I keep my styling products to an absolute minimum, – I’m not committed to spending a ton of money like I am with skincare, but at the same time I want quality products. The main hair concern I have is dryness, especially at the ends, due to my daily straightening/curling bonanza. Since I  ran out of my ridiculously expensive Macadamia Oil Masque a few months ago, I decided to try something a bit lower on the $$$ scale. I got the Garnier Fructis Damage Eraser on sale in the fall. I believe in Canada it retails for around $6.99, which is a great price. I find it works decently well if left in the hair for a few minutes and then rinsed out. To fill the void of macadamia oil in my life, I also picked up the Organix Hydrating Macadamia Oil Shampoo and Conditioner, which smell wonderful and also hydrate the hair like no other. I’ve spoken about how much I like the Organix range before and this is simply reinforcing my love for the brand. They’re a bit pricier than your average drugstore shampoo/conditioner, but if you can find them on sale (which they are, frequently), then it’s a decent price.

For after-shower treatments, I’ve been trying to find an alternative to my beloved and very favourite Alterna Bamboo Smooth Kendi Oil, which retails for $31 at Sephora here, so I decided to go with the Garnier Fructis Marvelous Oil. There are three varieties; the one pictured above is the Deep Nourish kind for Dry, Damaged Hair. I massage 4-5 pumps of this stuff into my damp hair and it absorbs pretty well. It doesn’t top the Alterna for me, but it’s a lovely drugstore alternative that doesn’t make my hair overly greasy, which is a problem I struggle with when I’m trying hair oils.

The last product I use on a daily basis, thanks to excessive (?) use of my straightening iron is the Tresemme Keratin Smooth Flat Iron Smoothing Spray. Tresemme makes decently priced and high quality heat protectants, and this is another one I received for free at an event – I would definitely repurchase though, as it comes out as a fine mist and does exactly what it says it will do – reduce frizz and lock in shine to make straightened hair look healthy.

What are your favourite hair products, especially for dry, damaged hair?

Leave a Reply

