Quick Blemish Banishers

Quick Blemish Banishers
I have struggled with acne pretty much since the dawn of puberty years ago. Every time I tell people that even now, well into my twenties, my face is a battlefield, they insist that either 1) my skin isn’t bad, or 2) it’s because I wear makeup. Funny, because it appears 1) is true because of 2), but actually neither of those things is actually correct. If makeup was the reason I broke out, I should have blemishes all over my face.

For the most part, I suffer from hormonal, cystic acne on my chin/jawline; the painful type that hurts like a bruise under the skin for days before rearing its ugly head at the surface of my skin, and then leaving a scar for months afterward. At any given time I usually have at least one or two active zits, but loads of old scars that take forever to fade, so I always make sure to keep an arsenal of treatments on hand for pimples at any stage.

While I would love if I could prevent any new blemishes from forming, I’ve learned over the years that it just isn’t happening until I somehow fix the inside (I have tried cutting dairy, gluten, etc. to no avail). Therefore I’m left with only maintaining a strict skincare regimen, and treating the surface when they do form. Spot treating is a bit of a tricky thing because many effective treatments either leave a residue or dry out the area, making it look even worse. The best quick fixes I’ve found are pictured above – and the most effective way to make them work in my opinion, is to rotate them.

The oldest and first serious topical treatment I ever bought was the DDF Benzoyl Peroxide Gel 5%. This is actually my second tube of the stuff, which is incredible, considering one tube is 2 oz – a lot for a spot treatment! I used benzoyl peroxide almost exclusively for a while, which did work great, but I find that my skin tends to “get used” to things, so I eventually switched it up and recently decided to go back to using salicylic acid, an ingredient I had found largely ineffective in years past. But the Clinique Acne Solutions Clinical Clearing Gel seems to have combined salicylic acid with some other helpful ingredients to actually do something to my very stubborn face. The only issue with the above two products are that they can’t be worn under makeup, as they either dry out the skin, or will roll off underneath.

If I need a spot treatment to work under makeup, I always go for my trusty Body Shop Tea Tree Oil. It sits well under foundation/concealer but actually goes to work during the day. A tiny drop goes a long way too! Love, and will definitely repurchase once I run out.

Next on my list of items to buy is something with sulfur, which is supposed to be very effective. What do you use to combat blemishes?

Leave a Reply

