Birthday Haul, Part 1: Beautylish

Beautylish
With my birthday around the corner and my needing a couple things (what a wonderful coincidence), I recently made a couple of naughty online orders, one small one, and one motherlode of products. The first of these was from Beautylish, which I discovered only when Googling a place to buy Indie Lee products and have them shipped to Canada. I found that Beautylish carries quite a diverse assortment of harder-to-find brands, and while I would have loved to spend way more money there, I restricted myself to only three items:

Indie Lee Calendula Eye Balm
This is not a product I have heard a lot about, but I read an article raving about it a few months ago, so I resolved to get this when I next needed an eye cream. I have very bad dark circles, and while I know nothing can truly erase them, this one sounded like a good, moisturizing option at the very least. I have only tried it a couple times and it is truly unlike any other eye cream – it is a balm, as the name would suggest, so it has a hard surface that you can slowly melt with the tip of your finger, or dig in and scoop a bit out. The consistency is quite oily like a face balm, so I will only be using this one at night when I don’t need to put makeup over top, but so far, so good.

CHIKUHODO GSN Series GSN-10 Eye Shadow
This is a brush brand that is rarely stocked at the websites or stores I frequent, so I thought I might as well seize the chance and try one out while I could. I decided on the GSN-10 because while I love my MAC 217 blending brush, I have quite a small eyelid and crease area, so I thought getting a smaller blending brush would be great, as well as just having two blending brushes in general. The bristles are very soft and blend shadows well, so I’m loving it so far. The only downside is that it is recommended that the brush is not washed more than once a month – they suggest simply rubbing the bristles on a paper towel to get rid of any unwanted colour. I’m used to washing my brushes quite frequently: about once a week for powder brushes and everyday for my foundation brush, so this should be interesting. Luckily I don’t stray too far outside the brown/bronze/taupe/gold spectrum of eyeshadows, so it won’t be a big deal if colours get mixed together!

Nudestix Magnetic Eye Color in Gilt
Speaking of eyeshadows, after my post on brown cream eyeshadows, I realized what was really missing in my life was a solid, gold cream shadow, so in order to get my order up to $75 for free shipping, I added this little guy to my basket. It’s a lovely colour, the sparkles aren’t too large, but they don’t exactly glide on easily – think Clinique Chubby Stick texture (vs. a softer texture like the Laura Mercier Caviar Sticks). It’s okay though, since a harder texture usually means it won’t slide around on my eyelids throughout the day.

The one thing I will say is that everything in the order came beautifully packaged in tissue paper and bubble wrap – there was even a hand-written card with a message for me, but all in all I would say it was overkill on the packaging – look at how big the Indie Lee box was for a tiny little pot of eye cream – and while it’s nice that each Nudestix product comes with a tin box, sharpener and mirror, I can’t imagine what I’d do with them if I really took a liking to Nudestix and began acquiring tons of their stuff.

Has anyone tried any of these products or other products from these brands? How did you like them?

One thought on “Birthday Haul, Part 1: Beautylish

  1. Pingback: The Daily Eye | The Face Wardrobe

Leave a Reply

