Birthday Haul, Part 2: Sephora

Sephora Haul
Every year since 2011, I’ve been making an online Sephora order for my birthday, to get my beauty insider birthday gift (which have been getting better and better each year! Does anyone remember the trio of Sephora lip gloss tubes from way back when?) and to capitalize on all the goodies you can get online, like samples, and beauty deals, etc.

This year was no different, and there were a couple things I was itching to get my hands on, but I’ve been patiently waiting until now to add it to the order. I’ve either not tried or just briefly swatched these items, except for one, so I will go through the really quickly and then potentially post more details on them after I’ve used them.

In terms of skincare, I was really keen on trying the Kate Somerville EradiKate Acne Treatment, which has a blend of sulfur and AHAs to help treat acne – finally a sulfur product in my life! I’ve also been dying to try some Peter Thomas Roth items, after seeing ViviannaDoesMakeup rave about the pumpkin enzyme mask, and a recent store visit in which the sales associate highly recommended PTR products, so I decided to go with the Mini Mask Magic Kit. I have to say this is another case of deceptive packaging – the tubs of masks, which are extremely cute, are much smaller than the box they come in. Why they have to do that, I don’t know. Either way, the kit comes with minis of the Cucumber Gel mask, which is supposed to be soothing, the Rose Stem Cell Bio-Repair Gel Mask, which is anti-aging, and the Pumpkin Enzyme mask, which is meant to decongest and brighten skin. I also picked up a free deluxe sample of my beloved Murad Pore Reform Skin Smoothing Polish and the 500-point gift set is one from Algenist.

Makeup-wise, I have absolutely been dying to get the NARS Audacious Lipstick in Vera, ever since I discovered berry tone lipsticks (post coming later on my whole collection of them!), but it’s a shade that’s only sold at a couple Sephoras in the city, and the one closest to me was always sold out. Even online, it was sold out until recently, so I’m over the moon that I finally got my paws on this bad boy. Also, being a huge lover of the Naked line, I had to grab one of the new Urban Decay Naked Skin Weightless Concealers. I got the shade Medium Light Neutral, which works great under my eyes and on my cheeks – I may have to swatch the shades in store to find one that works for the rest of my face, probably Medium Neutral. It has a very light, creamy consistency, but I think in terms of coverage and blendability, I still prefer the NARS Creamy Radiant Concealers, though I will say that I find those far too cakey under the eyes. Also for the face, I got one of the new Sephora Collection Teint Infusion Ethereal Natural Finish Foundations, but I will be returning this one, as the shade I got completely doesn’t suit me. Also, I’m not sure I like the texture – it’s just as heavy as a regular cream foundation from the drugstore. Being a lover of pen-style liquid eyeliners, I also just had to grab the Sephora Collection Fine Line: Waterproof 24 Hour Fine Liner, which retails for $18 CAD, which is a bit cheaper than some other ones sold at Sephora. Haven’t tried it yet, but will keep you updated if I like it or not!

The last couple of items lurking at the bottom of the picture are the NARS birthday gift, which includes two of the lip pencils, and a Larger than Life mini eyeliner for VIB Rouge members. I also got a mini of the Beauty Blender Cleanser Solid as a 100-point gift.

And that concludes my birthday haul for 2015! I’m really looking forward to trying these products out, and seeing how they work.

Sephora Haul 2

One thought on “Birthday Haul, Part 2: Sephora

  1. Pingback: Dupey Dupes? | The Face Wardrobe

Leave a Reply

