Bye-Bye Berry….

Berries
As the weather has finally been getting warmer and the snow is melting from the sidewalks, I’ve been getting extremely excited – and though this may be up for debate, that sadly means that the berries will have to go into hibernation while spring pinks and summer corals will soon be making an appearing on the lips and cheeks. Since 2014 was the year I “discovered” lipstick, I would say that my biggest obsession in that department was berry-toned lip products, and somehow I managed to acquire quite a number in just a few months.

To recap, I have a light-medium skintone with a varied mix of both pink and yellow undertones , so I’d say I can pull off most shades of lipstick without looking ridiculous – the only ones I have to really stay away from are pale nudes and certain reds that tend to wash me out. I found that the not-quite-purple pinks are really gorgeous for all occasions and I don’t feel too weird wearing on a daily basis. My lips tend to be quite pale and bloodless in the morning so berries are great to add some life to my face in the morning.

Here are my five favourites. Starting with the sheerest of them all, and oldest in my collection is the Revlon Super Lustrous Lip Gloss in Berry Allure, which I normally keep in my purse and am nearly done with. I’ll need to re-stock soon! Next is the CoverGirl Lip Perfection Jumbo Gloss Balm in Jam Twist, which I find has a sheer, but buildable formula – it  definitely acts more like a stain than an opaque/creamy lipstick. This is something I really like, aside from the fact that it’s a tad drying and I often layer another lip balm underneath. Next is a cult favourite: the Revlon Lip Butter in Berry Smoothie. I had been eying this one up for months, but finally decided to cave and get it when a sale was on at the drugstore. This is easily the most wearable and comfortable formula – no mirror required, and it doesn’t fade in a weird or chunky manner.

In terms of actual lipsticks, a few months ago I grabbed the Marc Jacobs Kiss Pop Lip Colour Stick in Headliner 608, which is described as a berry sangria. This colour is absolutely gorgeous, and the matte formula lasts ages, but make sure your lips are adequately hydrated, because this will suck the moisture out of them. I often layer the Revlon lip gloss over this one to stop it from being quite so drying. The most recent and exciting purchase is the NARS Audacious Lipstick in Vera. Like I said in a previous post, I had been chasing this one for a good while, and I actually bought the Marc Jacobs one in lieu of the NARS just because I wanted a proper berry lipstick for so long. Colour-wise there is practically no discernible difference between the NARS and Marc Jacobs, but the former is much creamier and less drying to wear.

What are your favourite berry-toned lipsticks, and do you think it’s acceptable to wear them in the spring and summer?

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

2 thoughts on “Bye-Bye Berry….

  1. Pingback: The Mid-Tone Berry Lip | The Face Wardrobe

  2. Pingback: Easy Peasy Gold Eyes and Berry Lips | The Face Wardrobe

Leave a Reply

