Taking It All Off

off
However much I love applying makeup every morning, equally as satisfying is taking it all off after a long day. I’ve tried a good number of makeup removers through the years and I’ve finally managed to narrow my favourites down to the point where repurchases have been made, multiple times – difficult to do sometimes in a world where we are spoiled for choice.

My ultimate favourite is the Clinique Take the Day Off Cleansing Balm. I’ve spoken about this one before – it’s simple, colourless, fragrance-free, and it does the job exceptionally well without any fuss. On a daily basis I wear both waterproof liquid eyeliner and mascara, so it’s important to have a good product that doesn’t require too much rubbing. I just take a fingertip-sized amount, gently massage it into dry skin, and everything dissolves pretty much instantly. Because I go through the Clinique so fast (almost done my second tub!), and it’s not exactly cheap, I have just bought another bottle of the Body Shop Camomile Silky Cleansing Oil, which is a much more economical option and has pretty much the exact same effect as the Clinique. For me, it just comes down to personal preference where texture is concerned. I find the cleansing balm is less messy and easier to spread, whereas the oil tends to escape my hands sometimes. But they both do exactly what they say, don’t leave a film on the face, and work really great for my naturally oily skin.

For days when I haven’t worn a full-face of makeup (sometimes I will just go with concealer and a smidgen of eyeliner on the weekends), I tend to opt for a cotton pad and a bit of either the Clarins Instant Eye Makeup Remover, or the Clinique Take the Day Off Makeup Remover. Both are bi-phase products that require a bit of shaking before using and they both work wonderfully. My only gripe is that they leave an oily residue, but not a big deal as I almost always hop into the shower after I remove my makeup.

When it comes to makeup wipes, I have tried several brands, and the ones that have stood out the most are the MAC ones, but I tend not to buy them since I find them wasteful and am afraid they will dry out. I also dislike the way they remove eye makeup, which is why I opt for a balm or oil, which doesn’t need as much rubbing. Basically, I prefer one-product solutions, which is why, controversially, I’m not the biggest fan of Bioderma. It’s lovely and refreshing and all that, but it doesn’t even come close to removing my eye makeup, so why not just use something that gets the whole face done? But that’s just my opinion. It probably works great on people who don’t need to wear waterproof formulas.

What is your favourite makeup remover?

One thought on “Taking It All Off

  1. Pingback: New Additions to My Skincare Routine | The Face Wardrobe

Leave a Reply

