Bamboo Moisture

Kendi
Expensive hair products are not really up my alley most of the time, but every now and again I find a gem I can’t get enough of despite my wallet’s protests. Brand-wise, Alterna has to be the only high-end haircare line I’ve ever really gotten into. My love for the Kendi Oil Treatment has been documented on this blog, but I have also tried the variations from them, the Dry Oil Mist and Thermal Protectant Spray, which in my opinion are decent, but not worth the money. I’ve also tried a few products from the Caviar range and love them, though that was as a 500-point perk from Sephora–I simply cannot be bothered to spend $40/bottle for the full-sized shampoo and conditioner. I have quite long and very thick hair, so I would go through a bottle in about three weeks.

Hair treatments though, are an entirely different animal. I’m pretty sure the first time I tried the Kendi Oil, the heavens opened up and angels sang. While I’m trying to wean myself off the stuff, and other expensive hair treatments (cough*Macadamia Oil*cough) it’s been hard to find products that work as well. Luckily, a few weeks ago, I stumbled into my local Winners, and while I was having a look ’round their beauty section, I happened upon the Smooth Moisture Masque selling for $14.99, which normally retails for $32.00 CAD, so I was pretty overjoyed. $15 isn’t cheap, but I snatched it up immediately. I’ve been using it for a couple weeks now and I have to say that it’s quite good. It’s not as thick or nourishing as the Macadamia Oil one, which retails for around $50 CAD here, but it does a good job of leaving your hair soft and manageable afterwards. And like the rest of the Bamboo/Kendi range, it doesn’t ever weigh down the hair or make it extra greasy, which is something I really have to watch out for, and is great as we go into the warmer months, since I won’t be abusing my hair as much with my straightener. I’m not sure if I will repurchase this mask, but if I ever see it again on sale or at Winners, I may just have to grab one again..

What is your current favourite hair treatment and have you ever tried anything from Alterna?

Leave a Reply

