Younique Moodstruck 3D Fiber Lashes

Younique
Beauty products are a top conversation topic sometimes amongst the girls at work (can you say.. enablers??), and recently mascara came up in conversation, specifically the Younique Moodstruck 3D Fiber Lashes Mascara, as one of my coworkers has very short, sparse and straight lashes. She claimed that this mascara changed her life and makes it look like she’s wearing falsies. Of course, we were immediately intrigued. While I’m not the biggest mascara junkie, nor do I tend to focus that much on my eyelashes, I’m always interested when someone mentions a holy grail product of theirs. So, knowing that mascara is often quite a love/hate subjective beauty product, two of us decided to order the mascara (it is sold like Avon, through representatives), which costs $35 CAD a pop.

As the name suggests, it’s a fiber mascara, but it has two steps. I’ve never tried a fiber mascara, but I was always under the impression that they generally came in one tube, with fibers mixed into the mascara. This, however, has two steps – a ‘gel’ and the natural fibers, which looks like a wand covered in lint. So the idea is to apply a layer of gel, quickly apply some fibers and then another layer of gel to seal it all together. The effect is actually insane – the fibers really lengthen and thicken the lashes. My only issue was that with my oil-slick face, it ended up smudging all over my under-eye area. The solution? I decided to use the fibers with layers of my regular waterproof mascara, which also works great.

younique2

I doubt I will repurchase, but it was a really interesting product to try – one that I have never seen or heard of before in the regular beauty channels and blogs that I frequent.

Have you tried this mascara or something similar, and how did it work out for you?

Leave a Reply

