Buy, Try and Review

New
When it comes to new beauty products, I wish I could be a true beauty blogger and buy items just for the sake of trying and reviewing them. Maybe someday (… far off dream!). But I still love buying and trying new items, especially from brands I already love, or just products I’ve heard of over and over again. I’ll try to do these mini reviews periodically, as I try not to spend too much money on new products – using things up like a regular person is still my aim.

With spring in full swing and summer just around the corner, I had a hankering to try a few new things and have been able to wear them for a while to really see if I like them or not:

Kat Von D Tattoo Liner, Trooper
Everyone and their mother raves about this stuff and have been since it was released. I was apprehensive, since I had tried a now-discontinued felt-tip liquid liner set from Kat Von D a couple years ago, and they all dried up in about 2 minutes. But the idea of a calligraphy pen nib really did intrigue me, after so many years of using my Stila liner. I have to say that I do like this one – it’s very easy to use, with a flexible tip that gives you tons of control without scraping across your eyelids like some of the felt-tip types tend to do. My one gripe is that it’s not as black as the Stila, though you can layer it if you want the ultra black effect. Staying power is good and it doesn’t smudge on me at all (yay!). At $23 CAD it is $3 cheaper than the Stila one, so maybe I will be staying with this one from now on.

PS I just saw on the website that they have this in brown. I’m definitely going to grab one of those at some point…

Benefit Roller Lash
I was fortunate enough to get a sample of the newest addition to the Benefit mascara range, since I hate splashing out on expensive products (especially ones as finicky as mascara), and not have them work. The brush is awesome, love it – it’s a small curved plastic brush with short bristles that apply mascara wonderfully. I feel like it really works with my short, sparse lashes. However, as with most mascara formulas, this one gives me some serious panda eyes. Unfortunately, I will not be purchasing the full size, though I might keep the brush around for use with whatever mascara I’m into at the moment!

Cover FX Custom Cover Drops, N35
As I’ve mentioned before, my skin has really taken a turn for the worse since around November – I don’t know why, since nothing has changed, but I’ve been really working on a few things to improve my skin. One thing I did was cut out liquid foundation and replace it with the CoverFX Custom Cover Drops, which is a fascinating product, and one that I was really excited to try. The idea is that it’s a super concentrated pigment that you can mix into anything – serum, moisturizer, primer, etc. The more drops you add, the more coverage you get. I’ve been mixing two drops in with my regular moisturizer every morning to get a really light evening out of my skin. Then I’ve just been going in with concealer to spot conceal anything really bad. I have to say that these didn’t work out for me as much as I would have liked – first of all, the colour is supposed to be “for medium light skin with neutral undertones”. This, to me, is VERY yellow-toned, so I had to change which concealer I was using with it. Also, I found that it settled into lines and pores in a way I’ve never experienced before. Depending on what you mix it with (I did try all three options), it can break up or mix in strangely – the best result is definitely with moisturizer in my opinion. I’m going to continue using this and see how I can make it work, as it was not cheap, but I really hope more brands come out with a similar product.

Tarte Showstopper Clay Palette
I’ve always wanted one of the round Tarte palettes, ever since I saw the Waterlilies one they brought out a few years ago. However, I have a very strict rule about palettes, and that is – I will not buy it if I won’t use every single colour included. Over the years, Tarte have released a few of these round palettes and each time I gaze hopefully at them but then see the teal or dark blue shade that I just know I won’t use – and why would I spend close to $50 on something that I can’t fully enjoy? Of course I’m slightly cheating here since I almost never wear blush (once or twice in my life so far, only). But I thought the colour of this one (Fame) would suit my skin should I ever decide I need some blush in my life. The eyeshadows are lovely and blendable. Predictably, I use the shade You’re a Natural (matte nude) the most, but I don’t wear much eyeshadow when I’m going to the office. The bronzer (Park Avenue Princess), which I believe is Tarte’s signature bronzer, is shockingly pigmented. An extremely delicate hand is required with this, and I am not really that fair. On my medium-light skin it was as if I had painted chocolate onto the sides of my face, so I’d recommend taking the ‘less is more’ route here. Overall I’m really pleased with this purchase and excited to keep using it everyday.

Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Nail Coat
I don’t know of a single person who is as obsessed with the Nails Inc. Kensington Caviar top coat as I have been the past few years, but everyone raves about the Seche Vite one, so when I popped into Winners one day, I knew I had to give it a go when I saw it. Overall I do really like it – it dries very fast and I think it does make polish last a tad bit longer than the Nails Inc one, although the way the Nails Inc feels after its dry it’s incredibly luxurious, which the Seche Vite doesn’t have. If I see this again I will definitely repurchase!

CoLab Dry Shampoo, Rio
I’m not the biggest dry shampoo fan as you may or may not know – I prefer to wash my hair daily, as much as I know that’s supposed to be bad for your hair, yaddayadda, I just can’t stand the greasiness that builds up and I love the fresh feeling of washing my hair. Also, having quite dark hair means a lot of dry shampoo = white/grey blotches all over my head. So when I heard about Ruth Crilly‘s dry shampoo, I was really excited to try it. Winners stocks them in both the Rio and New York scents, the latter of which I’m not overly fond of, but the product itself is really fantastic. It’s weightless and colourless and doesn’t give my head the itchy feeling that other dry shampoos give me. I’m quite pleased with this product even if I don’t use it very often.

Alterna Bamboo Luminous Shine Mist
My Alterna bamboo obsession continues. I already love the oil, use the hair mask and have tried various other sprays and heat protectants from the line. The Winners hair section is really amazing, so I was quite happy when I picked this up $14,99 (half the full price!). I’m not huge into hair styling products, but a couple spritzes of this stuff after using the straightening iron does wonders. It smells fan-freakin’-tastic, and it smooths down hair and some flyaways. The really stubborn ones probably require something more heavy duty like a hairspray, but this mist is lovely. Not something I would normally buy or indulge in, but I figured, hey, why not? And with summer so close, it’s nice to give hair that extra shiny boost during the day time.

What products have you recently purchased and tried? Have you tried any of the ones listed in this post, and how did you like them?

4 thoughts on “Buy, Try and Review

Leave a Reply

