The Best Hand Cream for Non-Hand Cream Lovers

I love the feeling of clean hands. Yup – I’m obsessed. I wash my hands constantly throughout the day because I hate that nasty feeling of a layer of dirt or sweat on my hands. Taking public transportation and working in an office induces constant hand-washing. The results? Dry, dry hands. In the winter, particularly, the skin around my fingers cracks all the time, which is really painful and absolutely gross to look at. While some people apply hand cream immediately after washing their hands to replenish their moisture levels, I feel it just adds that gross feeling back again, oily, greasy and generally unclean, and I usually end up gingerly trying to rub it only on the back of my hands, or foregoing it altogether.

For the first time ever, I have discovered the perfect hand cream for those of us who just hate that moisturizer feeling. The Kiehl’s Ultimate Strength Hand Salve has been a lifesaver, especially right before bed. It’s a white creamy gel texture – more cream than gel, but I say gel because it’s not as thick as some other hand creams on the market. It sinks in really quickly and smells faintly of eucalyptus, which I like.

The only downside is how expensive it is – the smaller ‘travel size’, which is 2.5 oz, costs $18 CAD, and the larger 5.0 oz tube will set you back $28. If they cost less I’d probably have a tube in each room and my purse! However, using this at least once a day has helped my hands considerably, and I’m willing to splurge a little bit so that my hands stay moisturized without feeling like I’m wearing grease mittens.

What is your favourite hand cream and why? Have you tried this one and did you like it?

Leave a Reply

