The Best Find of All Time..?


I talk about Winners a lot on this blog – and it seems that won’t be changing any time soon. For those of you who aren’t familiar, Winners is a Canadian discount store for brand name stuff, similar to TJ Maxx in the US – I think they’re owned by the same company. Anyway, it’s a lot of hit and miss there, though I do find that their cosmetic and hair department is quite good most of the time, especially the latter.

Recently, I was giving the makeup section a browse, which normally is not really a great section as most things are opened up and quite disgusting. But the high-end stuff they keep in locked plastic boxes that can only be opened by staff – you can get all kinds of discount brands, Lancome, Cle de Peau, etc., usually products I’m not interested in or weird colours. However, as luck would have it, I was just in time for a Marc Jacobs shipment so there were loads of plastic boxes with nail polishes, lip glosses, and other stuff inside. I could barely believe it when I saw that one of them contained a Style Icon No. 7 Plush Eye Shadow Palette inside… and even better, it was in the shade Lolita! I’ve heard tons of good stuff about this palette – practically everyone and their mother has been raving about it since it was released, but I just couldn’t justify the ridiculous price tag, not to mention I didn’t really need it (do you ever?). The Winners price? $49.99. Did I need another neutral eyeshadow palette? Is $50 still a stupid amount of money to blow on seven eyeshadows? Debatable. But still 30% off the retail price of $71 CAD, so I just knew I couldn’t pass it up.

I won’t go over the product all that much as it’s been raved about across the globe – the sleek packaging and the lovely colours. I’ve only tried it once or twice, and it is insanely pigmented – you barely need to dip your brush into the pan to get enough shadow for your entire eyelid. Beautiful for everyday wear and for glamming it up at night.  This is definitely one purchase I won’t be regretting.

The moral of the story? Go to Winners more often!

Have you tried this palette or any of the other Marc Jacobs shadows? What did you think?

2 thoughts on “The Best Find of All Time..?

  1. These neutrals are beautiful. When I was at a Sephora in Italy this summer, I saw one of these palettes in a different shade (blues and greys) for only €34, but I knew I would never use the colors so I didn’t buy it. Love when we’re lucky enough to find high end beauty items at a discount though!

    Like

    • Ooo that’s frustrating. I know this is a one-in-a-million find so I am definitely cherishing it!! It’s hard to spend hard-earned money on such expensive makeup.

      Like

Leave a Reply

