Out With the Old… and In With the New


Excuse this somewhat grubby looking bottle (oops – this is real life)… but after about a year and a half, I have finally reached the end of my CoverGirl Outlast Stay Fabulous 3 in 1 Foundation. This has been my everyday go-to foundation for workdays and since I’ve actually gone through an entire bottle, I feel like I can give a more in-depth review of the stuff. Bottom line, it’s a solid foundation that ticks off most boxes for someone with my skin type. Although it doesn’t control oil as well as I would like it to, it’s not as heavy or as thick in texture as some foundations formulated for oily skin. It also does feel like you’re wearing foundation on your skin, but it’s nothing crazy. This foundation is a medium coverage, but on most days I tend to wear a very little bit of the stuff (probably why it takes me so long to finish a bottle), sheered out as much as possible. I prefer concealer to handle the rest.

The bottle above is Warm Beige, but the bit left behind is actually a mix of that and the Nude Beige shade. Matching drugstore foundations can be so tricky, so I ended up having to get two bottles. I still have a half-full bottle of Nude Beige lying around, though if I ever buy this foundation again I’ll probably aim to find the shade in between (if it exists). The shade also saw me through pretty much the entire year, although now that we’ve been blessed with daily sunshine and 30+ degree weather, it was starting to get a bit light for me. The thing I also love about this foundation is the colourmatch – CoverGirl seems to have found a good mix of yellow and pink undertones that suit my skin quite well, so it never required too much blending. The colour also didn’t oxidize on me too much, unlike some higher end foundations I’ve tried.

All in all, I think this is a solid foundation and if you had moderately oily skin, this would be amazing for everyday.

I didn’t replace it immediately – but for such a staple in my everyday routine, I do prefer to go the drugstore route if possible – high end foundations are just so expensive. I’ve been dying to try the new L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte Foundation, which everyone and their mother has been raving about on the internet. It is marketed as a long-lasting demi-matte foundation for oily skin, which is exactly what I need. I’ve been using it for a couple of weeks now and I have to say that the hype is REAL. It feels like nothing when applied and dries down to a sort of light powder finish. This is the very first liquid foundation I’ve never had to powder before, which is incredible. I also don’t feel oily whatsoever throughout the day, even though if I blot, the sheet definitely picks up a moderate amount of oil. It sticks around and doesn’t break up throughout the day.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

My one gripe would be the shade – I picked up the shade 105 – Natural Beige, which sounds like it would be suitable for my medium-light neutral skin, but it’s incredibly yellow, so it does take a bit more blending. Maybe next time it goes on sale I’ll pick up a more pink-toned shade to mix them.

Have you tried either of these foundations? What is your favourite drugstore foundation?

3 thoughts on “Out With the Old… and In With the New

  1. Pingback: New Additions to My Brush Collection | The Face Wardrobe

  2. Pingback: 2015 Favourites: Makeup | The Face Wardrobe

Leave a Reply

