The Unlikely Nude Lip Duo

Nude lips are just so much easier – are we all agreed? It’s well-documented on this blog how much difficulty (re: laziness) I have when it comes to using all my 230948230 lip products. That number’s just a slight exaggeration. So on most days, a swipe of lip balm or sheer lip gloss usually does me for the day. No worrying about feathering, fading or any of that jazz.

But on days that I am either going out, or just want to have a slightly more polished look, I’ve still been leaning toward nude, nude, nude. My latest discovery has been pairing the NARS Satin Lip Pencil in Rikugien with the Clarins Instant Light Natural Lip Perfector in 03 Nude Shimmer for a lovely neutral lip that works for pretty much all occasions and matches all outfits. I got the NARS pencil as part of the 2015 Sephora birthday gift and initially had no idea what to do with it, because on its own it isn’t really nude on me – it’s a tad too dark and too pink for me to comfortably wear it as a nude. However, now that it’s summer and I’ve gotten much more sun, I decided to fish this one out of its drawer and give it a go. If I pat it in for a sheer wash of colour it works great, but if I want to really get the full pow with the colour, it’s still a bit too dark, even with my much-tanner skin, so in comes the milkier, lighter Clarins gloss, which when it’s layered over top, neutralizes things a bit and gives me the perfect juicy nude for summer.

What nude lip combo have you been loving, and have you tried either/both of these products?

5 thoughts on “The Unlikely Nude Lip Duo

    • I am in love with the Audacious lipstick – it’s a good formula, although I would only say it’s worth it if you have the budget. The packaging is beyond sexy too…………..!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

