Buy, Try and Review #2


With summer winding down (although the hot weather might say otherwise!), I thought it’d be a good opportunity to post my second round of mini reviews of the stuff I’ve been able to test out recently. There’s been quite the range of products to try out and I’ve found some real gems that will definitely become staples in my beauty routine.

Macadamia Natural Oil Flawless Cleansing Conditioner
Let’s start with the best, shall we? I’ve really liked cleansing conditioners since I tried the Herbal Essences one that for some reason is unavailable for purchase in stores here in Canada. The only ones I know of are the really high-end ones you can buy at Sephora or, this one right here. In another Winners score, I managed to snag two bottles, which they were selling for $16.99 (retails for $33.00 normally), which in my opinion is still expensive for a hair cleansing product, but I was so curious about it I had to try it. In a word, it’s awesome. It is a bit of a strange texture, and obviously doesn’t lather since a conditioner, so it’s difficult to work into the hair, but once it’s rinsed out, it made my hair feel amazing – clean, soft and not stripped. I would buy this again if I could find it discounted.

Make Up For Ever Step 1 Skin Equalizer Mattifying Primer
I picked up a mini of this in the travel-sized aisle at Sephora and have been testing it out under several different bases after hearing rave reviews about it online. The texture is lovely, like a matte gel that does not feel like silicone at all (a huge plus!), and it instantly makes skin feel less oily and sticky. In terms of performance throughout the day, I don’t necessarily think that this primer has worked any miracles for me. To me, the oiliness of my skin really depends on the foundation I use rather than any primer I’ve been able to hunt down so far. When this runs out, I don’t think I’ll be going to repurchase the full sized product, but it probably works great for some people. I’m glad they brought out the mini version so you don’t have to splurge on the full-size product.

Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage in SC-3
This is a concealer palette I’ve been wanting to try for ages. I like the idea of having a couple different colours to mix together to get the perfect shade – especially handy for when my skin gets more tan/lighter throughout the year. The lighter shade works perfect for my cheeks, while the darker shade can be used on the rest of my face. Recently, I’ve gotten a lot more sun so this is a bit too ashy for me, but as it gets colder and I lose my tan, this will work a treat for “no makeup days” when I can just spot conceal with this and be done.

Jack Black Moisture Therapy Lip Balm SPF25 in Lemon
After I ran out of my usual lip balm, I was searching for a replacement and decided to try this one as I think it is a favourite of Temptalia’s – she does tons of lip swatches so I figure if her lips are in tip top shape, this has got to be a great product. It comes in a few different flavours and I settled on the lemon flavour, which is amazing. It smells like a sweet and tangy lemon dessert…yum. And it’s not too overpowering, since I’m not usually a fan of scented lip products. It’s also got a great texture – halfway between slippy and thick, neither of which I like. It also lasts all night and is still there in the morning. This could definitely be a new favourite and I’m excited to try the different flavours.

Nip + Fab Glycolic Fix Exfoliating Facial Pads
Everyone and their mother has been obsessed with the First Aid Beauty facial pads and I’ve tried both kinds – the exfoliating and the acne-treating ones, and honestly, I didn’t notice that much of a difference; in fact, I’m pretty sure the acne-treating ones actually broke me out. I’ve been eyeing these up for a while and finally decided to buy them for use after my post-work shower – I don’t tend to do a full skincare routine after that – just a swipe of one of these pads and bit of moisturizer and I’m good to go. I save the drawn-out routine for just before bed. So far I haven’t noticed a massive different in these either, but they haven’t done anything bad to my skin, so I probably won’t repurchase, but I’ll continue to use them until they’re gone. Nip + Fab is not a brand I’ve tried a ton of things from, so it was good to try something from a brand that is quite a fixture at the drugstores here.

Sally Hansen Cuticle Rehab
I’m always looking for something to help the state of the skin around my nails – they’re always dry and cracking, so I thought I’d give this gel/oil formula a go.  I squeeze a little bit out on the brush and then rub it into my fingertips and let it sit for 20-30 minutes, after which I wash it off, and it has stopped a bit of the cracking. So far it hasn’t worked any miracles but I will persist in using it after I paint my nails.

What new products have you tried recently and what should I try next?

Leave a Reply

