The Daily Eye

As you may or may not know, I’ve been trying to make more of an effort on the daily to wear some of the loads and loads of eyeshadow I have sitting around on my desk. For the past year or two it’s been easy to convince myself that I’ve been making use of my stash since I tend to just go for a quick swipe of cream shadow most days and instantly move onto eyeliner and the like. Last fall I decided it would be a good idea to at least incorporate one powder shadow since I have so many (four neutral palettes and counting!!) that I never really use. So it’s been on-and-off, and a bit of experimentation here and there since. But the last few months, I discovered the perfect summer eye that could really work year-round (let’s face it – how many gold/brown/taupe looks are season-specific?), and I will probably be wearing into the fall months because I’m so obsessed with it.

The star of the show is the Nudestix Magnetic Eye Color in Gilt, which is a lovely gold cream shadow that I hauled back in March. The colour is not too yellow and not too coppery, but a perfect neutral gold that isn’t too different from my natural skin tone and really makes the eyes pop. A couple of swipes across the lid and it stays put all day long. Any time I’m on the clock I do prefer to start with a cream shadow since that cuts out the primer step, which would be essential if I was only using powders. The texture is very creamy and easy to apply. It practically blends itself in and isn’t too obvious or disco-like for work. If I’m feeling like I have extra time or fancy, I grab a fluffy blender brush and my Too Faced Natural Eyes Palette and mix a bit of Nudie and Cashmere Bunny together into my crease. Voila, a pulled together shadow look that basically takes one minute. And while I’m barely making a dent in my eyeshadow collection, at least I’m trying..!

After that, I curl my stick-straight lashes with the Shu Uemura Eyelash Curler (just bought a new one!) and go in with whatever liquid liner I happen to be into, which currently, is the Kat Von D Tattoo Liner, and then follow up with a coat of Marc Jacobs mascara.

If you’re looking for a quick but professional eye look to do everyday, I would definitely suggest some combination of the above steps. I do think that of all the palettes I own, the Too Faced one is the most flattering for my skin tone, and could work for tons of other people as well, especially in an office setting. I also think that for any gals with oily eyelids, start with a cream eyeshadow! It helps so much. I have the type of eyelids that eat regular eyeliner and mascara for breakfast and then leave black smudges everywhere, and all of the cream shadows I’ve ever tried, from drugstore to high-end, have done the trick. No creasing, no worrying about applying a primer, and they really do work well on their own – no blending or crease-defining required.

What has been your daily eye makeup routine lately, and what products would you recommend for everyday looks?

Leave a Reply

