IT Cosmetics Your Skin But Better CC+ Cream SPF 50

I have to admit, I’m not immune to hype. And one product that has really made the hype-rounds recently is the IT Cosmetics Your Skin But Better CC+ Cream SPF 50 – there are myriad benefits and claims. Sun protection, non-heavy coverage, a natural finish, etc. It Cosmetics is an American brand that right now is very difficult to get a hold of in Canada. You can pretty much only buy it online, for a cool $38 USD. Any Canadian right now is feeling the pinch of the exchange rate (that price converts to $50 CAD today) so I was definitely holding off on buying it. Not to mention, I wouldn’t be able to swatch it, so I wasn’t sure which shade to go for.

When Beautylish.com sent out an email inquiring if I would like to receive a deluxe sample of the stuff for free, I thought, hell, why not? Even better if I get the chance to trial it instead of buying the full-sized product and hating it. I decided on the shade Medium, since I had just gotten quite the tan, and a few days later, this cute 0.135 oz tube arrived in the mail, complete with a box and fancy black pouch. I’ve been trialling it on and off, mostly on the weekends when I have the freedom to try new things without worrying if my face will melt off halfway through the workday. I’ve applied it with my fingers, with a buffing brush, and most recently, with a beautyblender, and I’ve used a variety of primers underneath.

My thoughts? Overall, I think it’s alright. Coverage is quite good for a “CC Cream” and the colour blends quite nicely into the skin. It also smells fantastic, like lemons. However, I did find that I didn’t like the way it looked with a brush or fingers, as the texture of it didn’t ever seem to mesh with my skin properly. It also felt tacky throughout the day, even after powdering, and with the discovery of the L’Oreal Infallible foundation, nothing else seems to live up to it, especially given the high price tag on this one. Also, with my oily skin, I definitely felt greasy throughout the day and had to blot. The beautyblender gives the best application by far, for me, since it stops it from feeling sticky. Since the shade match is quite good for my skin right now, it really does help to blend well both colour-wise and texture-wise. Would I splash out for the full-sized product? No. I’ll continue to use and play with the product until it’s finished, but for me there are other things on the market that are better. This might be somewhat of a negative review, but to be completely honest I don’t think that for my particular skin type there are any special benefits to it other than the superb colour match.

I’m definitely interested in trying more from IT Cosmetics, but not sure what I’d like to try yet.

Have you tried this product and what did you think? What would you recommend from the line?

Leave a Reply

