A Rant and a Rave


I don’t rave about very many products. I find that with the plethora of beauty items available on the market I find very few I absolutely cannot live without, or maybe there’s just so many I haven’t gotten around to trying them yet! Recently, I’ve been trying out a couple of new things and thought it was time to share my thoughts about them.

Let’s start with the good – it’s been well-documented how oily and smudgy my eyelids are. Regular eyeliner and mascara go the way of breakfast as far as my eyes are concerned, and in a couple hours, I’m pretty much a part of the panda family. So when I discovered mascara top coats as a concept, I was dying to try one out. Sephora offers two that I could find and I decided to start with the BareMinerals Locked & Coated Waterproof Lash Topcoat. So far I have tried it on top of two different mascaras that I know smudge on me and.. it works! It works amazingly well. The only issue is that it’s hard to put the top coat exactly where you applied mascara, but if you can cover it all, it does what it says on the tin, and helps to hold a curl. This was super exciting for me, since it practically opens a whole new world of possibilities for mascara purchases now – things that I was never able to buy before I might not be so shy about since I have a smudge-proof coat I can put on top. I recommend this for anyone who suffers from smudgy mascara like I do!

The next new item is a bit of a recent cult obsession on the internet, so I knew I had to get my hands on it. But how to justify the horrific price tag? Sunday Riley Luna Night Sleeping Oil has pretty much taken the beauty world by storm and in Canada, it retails for $131, for a 1 oz bottle. Pretty ridiculously steep. One day a few weeks ago, I was browsing the Sephora website as usual, and found they were offering a mini size as a beauty deal, so I immediately made an order to get the sample, which, when it came, I discovered was surprisingly large. You get 7 ml, which is just shy of 25% of the full-sized product. I was really pleased, since it’s much better to be able to trial the product before splashing out a ton of money and potentially hating it. I’ve been using it every night for the past 10 days, and I’m not entirely sure it has done anything positive. It claims to smooth fine lines, shrink pores, and improve the appearance of skin. While I know it can take a while before any results appear, and none of the above claims have happened so far, I did get the worst breakout of acne on my chin that I’ve had in a long while a couple days after I started using it. Coincidence? It could be, but after that I began to mix one or two drops into my nighttime moisturizer instead of just using it on its own. The patch of breakouts has started to get a bit better, so I will persist with using this to see how it goes. Since you only need a couple drops a night, this bottle will last me ages! While this isn’t really a rant, I’m just generally disappointed after the hype surrounding the bottle, and its hefty price tag. Spending that kind of money, I’d expect miracles to happen, and they didn’t. It could be that my skin type is just not super receptive to oils or retinols (I’m a retinol n00b, other than spot treating with Retin-A a couple times – that dried my skin out like nothing else I’ve ever used), but I will keep you updated just in case there are miracles coming further down the line.

Have you tried either of these products, and what did you think?

One thought on “A Rant and a Rave

  1. Pingback: The Cult Beauty Haul | The Face Wardrobe

Leave a Reply

