Marc Jacobs Twinkle Pop Eye Stick


My obsession with browny cream eyeshadows is well documented. So I’ve been lusting after practically every single high-end cream eye shadow release I know of. I managed to get my paws on one such product – the Marc Jacobs Twinkle Pop Eye Stick in the shade Volver, which is a gorgeous shimmery champagne housed in the sleekest and cutest packaging possible. This is another great Winners find for me, even though it wasn’t cheap even discounted – $25 instead of the usual $35, which is how much it costs at Sephora.

Obviously I had to try it the very next day and unfortunately, this product is only beautiful to look at, but doesn’t perform the way it’s supposed to. Usually, cream shadows last wonderfully on my eyes – they stick around all day without any creasing or smudging. However, by the end of the day, there was none of the Twinkle Pop left on my eyelids – just a few residual sparkles. I tried it again with an eyeshadow primer (the Lorac Behind the Scenes), but it made the product apply extremely patchily. The one thing is that this eyeshadow feels very cooling when it goes on, although I’m not really sure what the benefits are to that.

I guess not all high-end products are worth the money, and while I love the other Marc Jacobs items I have, this is not one of them. I would highly recommend trying the Nudestix or Clinique Chubby Sticks instead of the Twinkle Pop. I’ll be curious to hear if the other shades perform any better/worse, but sad to say (happy for my wallet) that I will not be picking up any more of these.

Have you tried this product, and what did you think?


Leave a Reply

