The Europe Haul: Part 2

The second leg of my journey included a brief stay in Switzerland. Drugstores over there definitely do not carry the wide array of products like they do here, so I actually managed to grab some Maybelline goodies inside a random grocery store. For some reason, even though Maybelline is sold pretty much everywhere here, we don’t have the same products as in Europe, and I’ve been meaning to get my hands on the Super Stay 7 Days Gel Nail Colour ever since I heard Amelia Liana rave about them. It’s been ages since I first heard about them and they still haven’t appeared on Canadian, shelves, so I made sure to pick up three beautiful colours to try – Rose Salsa, Mint for Life and Red Hot Getaway. They’re more summery colours, but I will definitely be reporting back on how these perform. The other Maybelline line that isn’t sold here is the ColorDrama Intense Velvet Lip Pencils, which I assume are supposed to be a dupe for the NARS versions. They’re about the same size and look similar – I grabbed just one shade: Nude Perfection, and I really like it. It really is the perfect nude shade and looks great with a clear gloss on top (I prefer my nudes to be more glossy and juicy, whereas more intense colours I prefer matte). The only downside to this, and it’s a very personal thing, is that it is scented. I’ve said repeatedly I dislike scented lip products and this one has a strong scent of cherry candy. Overall, however, I wish I had picked up more colours because I think it’s a great product and very handy for on the go.

My next stop was H&M, and as I’ve been hearing rave reviews about their new beauty line, I thought I’d investigate while shopping for other things. While I would have loved to pick up more, it was already getting a bit ridiculous with the amount of stuff I had already bought, so I settled for only two items. Part of the problem is that each product had so many shades that it was a bit overwhelming to choose from. I ended up with the Colour Essence Eye Cream in the shade Champers, which is a lovely nude with silver shimmer running through it – I just can’t resist a cream eyeshadow! It performs alright; I think I need a primer underneath as there was some creasing the first time I tested it out, but overall it’s a lovely shade that would work for everyday. The other product I picked up was the Aqua Liquid Eyeliner in the shade de Nîmes, which is a metallic deep blue and is a brush-in-pot style of liquid liner. It’s a beautiful colour although I wish it didn’t have shimmer in it.

I’m quite pleased with my European beauty haul and am looking forward to going back to explore some more stuff.

Have you tried anything from H&M beauty and what did you think?

Leave a Reply

