Gold Holiday Eyes


It is absolutely no secret around here that I love a warm-toned, neutral eye. I sport one all year round. But when it comes to the holidays, I go even crazier for gold-tones, if such a thing were possible. I’ve got 5 picks here – and they’re all quite similar – my ideal for a gold eyeshadow is to be clearly gold (vs. champagne or rosegold), but not too yellow. Also, since it’s the holidays, the sparkle is great, but I hate chunky glitter as I find it both hard to apply and not very natural-looking.

The first three I am loving come from palettes – Honey Pot from Too Faced’s Natural Eyes Collection is my ideal powder formula for a gold. It’s creamy, metallic and a beautiful colour. This is one of my favourites and it’s very well-loved! Next is the shade Undiscovered, from Lorac’s Unzipped Palette, which is my oldest eyeshadow palette, but is still being used on a daily basis. Undiscovered is a little more muted and less intense than Honey Pot, which makes it great for daily wear. My last palette fave is from my new love, Half Baked from the Urban Decay Naked Palette. It is an absolutely divine shade, which is just the slightest bit less bright than Honey Pot, but is a great everyday gold as well.

From the cream side, there’s no point in spending too much time talking about the Nudestix Magnetic Eye Color in Gilt, which I wore practically every single day in the summer. It’s easy, beautiful and the perfect metallic gold. Too feel extra festive, I’d recommend using Gilt as a base and then sweeping some of Honey Pot on top……….. overkill? Never.

Lastly, there is the ELF Smudge Pot in Back to Basics. This one is bit darker than the rest and leans almost bronze-y, like an antique gold. It’s beautiful and another great one for layering.

What is your favourite gold eyeshadow and what eye look do you plan on rocking over the holidays?

2 thoughts on “Gold Holiday Eyes

  1. Pingback: Easy Peasy Gold Eyes and Berry Lips | The Face Wardrobe

Leave a Reply

