2015 Favourites: Skin Care

Following last year’s precedent, it’s only right to do a post on my most-loved and used skincare favourites from 2015. It’s been an interesting year for skincare – some old, some new, but also a lot of the same stuff I’ve been using for a while. That’s the thing about skincare. It’s much more finnicky, although I’m hoping that now I’m coming closer to a finalized skincare routine, at least in terms of ingredients, if not specific products.

One of my favourite cleansers of the year has to be the Philosophy Microdelivery Exfoliating Wash, which I have used on and off since around 2009. This is either my third or fourth bottle of the stuff, which is creamy and gentle and exfoliates the skin with the teeniest beads ever. I use this every morning. After work in the shower, I’ve decided to give my Clarisonic a bit of break and just go back to using a simple cleanser. The one I’m loving right now is the Clarins One-Step Gentle Exfoliating Facial Cleanser, which is gentler, more moisturizing and has slightly bigger beads than the Philosophy. I’ve had samples of this cleanser in the past and I am definitely glad to finally have the full-sized product in my arsenal. To remove makeup, nothing can beat the Body Shop Camomile Silky Cleansing Oil – it’s fast, efficient and affordable, and removes every scrap of waterproof eye makeup imaginable.

Other faves have been the Clinique Superdefense Age Defense Eye Cream SPF 20, amazing for all year round, and my most-used night time moisturizer, the LaNeige Water Sleeping Mask. I’m on my third tub of the stuff, but only really started using it daily in 2015.

To set all my makeup on the daily, I’ve found a cheaper alternative to the Urban Decay Setting Sprays – L’Oreal’s Infallible Pro Spray & Set Makeup Extender Setting Spray, which is under $15 and lasts ages. I can’t live without the stuff and am down to the last couple of sprays in my second bottle.

For the body, my lifesaver is the Kiehl’s Ultimate Strength Hand Salve, which is thick but sinks into the skin instantly, and does not leave a greasy finish. I apply it every night to hands, feet and elbows when needed. Also, as a little indulgence, the Laura Mercier Creme de Pistache Souffle Body Creme is incredible, used as a lotion or as a perfume. The texture is amazing and the scent lingers all day. Worth the splurge, in my opinion.

What have your skincare/body care faves been in 2015 and what are you looking forward to trying most this coming year?

Leave a Reply

