2015 Un-Favourites: Best of the Worst

The title of this post may not be entirely accurate – but each year I do try quite a few new products, so it’s inevitable that I’ll have some that don’t work out for me. I’ve mentioned a couple in earlier posts, but I thought I’d do a final round-up of the products that disappointed me this year, for various reasons.

First up is the Tony Moly Lip Balm in Apple, which I purchased at a local Korean market after hearing rave reviews about the stuff. However, I really don’t think I’ll be able to get through the tub. It has a thin, unappealing texture, and the scent of it is chemical-ly and overwhelming, and somehow it always manages to get into my mouth – bleh! On top of it all, it doesn’t really do anything and just sits on the lips. I only use this when I’m absolutely desperate.

Next, I have a couple of face products – the CoverFX Custom Cover Drops ushered in a whole new obsession with ‘serum foundations’ and while I may try others in the future, I cannot stand this stuff. The colour is way off – I got one of the N shades, which is supposed to be neutral, but it’s basically bright yellow. Also, no matter how you buff or brush it in, it seems to sit on top of the skin and cling to things you don’t want it clinging to. Yup. I’m going to be passing on this one. Next was not quite as extreme of a disappointment – the Urban Decay Naked Skin Weightless Complete Coverage Concealer in the shade Medium-Light Neutral. On the positive side, this concealer is both weightless and provides complete coverage, so it definitely lives up to its name. In fact, I liked its texture so much I had been planning to replace my Nars concealer with this one. However, there is one major problem. In the tube, and on first application, it appears to match my skin tone. In a few minutes though, it quickly oxidizes and turns much darker, so it appears that I have brown spots all over my skin – not cute. Of course the solution would be to try a lighter shade, but after testing and swatching and waiting a bit in store, I think both the ‘light’ options are too light. So that sucks, but I’ll be using it in the summer time when I’m more tan.

For the eyes, I’ve got a bit of a shocker – the MAC Fluidline in Blacktrack, everyone’s favourite black gel liner. I was fortunate enough to be gifted this from a friend who couldn’t make use of it. I was super excited as I’d heard loads and have never really found a gel-eyeliner-in-a-pot that I’ve liked. It applies smoothly and jet black, but there’s a major smudging problem on me, even with primer. So I can’t wear it and I can’t be bothered to set it, etc., when I have perfectly long lasting options like any of the liquid liners I’ve mentioned over and over again on this blog. So that was very sad. The other major disappointment for me this year was the hugely overpriced Marc Jacobs Twinkle Pop Stick Eyeshadow in Volver. I reviewed this a few months ago and it was patchy and not long-wearing at all, so I’m not sure what I’m going to do with it – perhaps reserve it for occasions I know I won’t be wearing makeup for too long.

Lastly is a stand-in for an entire line – the whole line of Sephora Formula X Nail Polishes has been a huge let-down for me. I’ve got a couple of them and while they apply nicely at first, they chip in about 30 seconds after they dry, so definitely not worth the money – sad as they canned the Sephora by OPI line and replaced it with Formula X. It’s a shame, since they have such a lovely range of colours and finishes, but I can’t justify spending the money on these polishes – better to go to the drugstore.

Welp, that concludes my 2015 wrap-up of products – hope that wasn’t too negative, although I’m sure that the products mentioned above worked great for some people.

What were your biggest makeup disappointments of 2015?

Leave a Reply

