The New Year’s Detox

There is nothing like a good, food and alcohol-filled holiday season, I will be the first to say. However, after all the eating and drinking and partying like it’s 1999, my skin tends to have a bit of a freak out – and seriously, the cold winter air isn’t helping a bit. Now that we’re into the second week of 2016, it seems that my skin has decided to just give up and start breaking out all over the place, despite me not spending new year’s eve in a bar (I was in a plane – potentially worse?). So I’ve decided to whip out all the clarifying and super-clearing clay masks I could find in my stash and give all of them a try.

For the everyday type of cleansing, I tend to favour my Elemental Herbology Facial Detox Purifying Facial Mask, which unfortunately, I’m running low on, and was procured in the UK (you can also get it online). It comes out as a thick, grey liquid, which spreads easily over the face and dries down in about 10 minutes, depending on how thick a layer is applied. After it’s washed off, my skin feels clean and soft. It’s definitely not the most intense clay mask I’ve ever tried, but I’d be careful if I had overly dry or sensitive skin. I find that the Aesop Parsley Seed Mask is a slightly toned down version of this one – it can be used often, as it’s not as clay-like as the Elemental Herbology, and doesn’t quite dry down to the same consistency. People with drier skin would definitely be able to use this and I pull it out quite often when I’m just looking for a quick fix for troubled skin.

If the target of my treatment is more blackheads/whiteheads/clogged pores, or any other yummy stuff, I tend to gravitate toward the First Aid Beauty Skin Rescue Purifying Mask with Red Clay. It’s red and gooey, and almost looks like liquid plastic, but once it’s dries, you can peel it off in one go, and it gets rid of all the nasties hiding in the crevices of your face. Another mask for less troubled skin, but still has some great anti-bacterial properties is the Good Things Manuka Honey Radiance Face Mask, which contains white clay but smells honey sweet and somehow manages to purify while also moisturizing the skin.

If it’s the big guns I really need, and I want an all over mask or an overnight spot treatment, I go for the one and only item in my skincare arsenal that has not changed over the past 6-7 years, which is the Fresh Umbrian Clay Purifying Treatment Bar. I’m telling you guys, this is my absolute, one and only real staple in my skincare routine and has never been beaten. I’ve never found a clay mask that works better than this one (yes, I have tried GlamGlow and Lush offerings – while I like them, they are no comparison). I don’t know what it is about the Fresh, but it is incredible. It’s pricey, but the bar lasts forever. I wet my fingers and kind of rub the bar to make a thin liquid that is then easily spread over the face. It dries very quickly and after a few minutes, it can be rinsed off to reveal the softest, smoothest skin you’ve ever felt. It’s gentle enough to be used daily (I did that for a while in university), but packs enough of a punch that it can be used overnight as a spot treatment. The best use is for when I can sense one of those huge, painful breakouts lurking, I slap some of this stuff on it and a lot of the time, it shrinks the zit away completely. If there’s one thing from this entire blog that I’d say is worth every penny, it would be the Umbrian Clay Purifying Treatment Bar. Love, love love, and will forever repurchase. They better not discontinue this………..

What are your favourites for boosting your skin after the holiday season?

4 thoughts on “The New Year’s Detox

Leave a Reply

