The Drugstore Concealer Experiment

I’m no stranger to drugstore concealers. It’s just that in the last few years, it seems that all I’ve been using is stuff from Sephora – easy to get sucked into the pretty packaging and online hype. You may remember that I’m trying to cut down on unnecessary makeup spending in 2016, and as part of that, I’m trying to replace any high-end products with their drugstore counterparts.

I’ve tried the Maybelline Fit Me Concealer before, which I do like, but always seems to be sold out at every drugstore I visit. I did try to get my hands on the ‘Light’ shade, but to no avail, in the past 4 months or so. Sadface. The story with my concealer situation is a bit weird – I use two different shades of concealer around my face for hiding acne scars and other fun things, because my cheeks are much lighter than my t-zone. This wouldn’t normally be a problem if I use foundation to even everything out, but on some days, I just really don’t feel like whacking on a full face, you know? So I prefer to just slap on a bit of concealer where needed, and finish with powder. For this, I always need to keep a lighter shade for my cheeks – with the NARS concealers, I used Custard on the cheeks and Ginger on the centre of my face.

Since I’ve run out of my NARS, which were a tad on the orange side for me anyway, I’ve been struggling to replace them, and the first stop I made was the Revlon section of the makeup aisle, where I picked up the Colorstay Concealer in 03 Light Medium. It must have been my lucky day or something, because this colour is actually quite a good match for me. It has a light texture, and my only gripe is that I wish it was a bit more pigmented. I tend to have to layer it up to conceal some of the more stubborn spots on my face.

Under the eyes, I have actually been foregoing concealer for the most part, just applying a peachy corrector first and then going over the area with foundation. But when I really want to brighten those puppies up, I’ve been reaching for the Maybelline DreamLumi Touch Highlighting Concealer in Nude, which I paint on in a triangle shape and blend in with my BeautyBlender.

What are your favourite drugstore concealers, and what should I try next?

Leave a Reply

