New Shower Favourites from the Drugstore

Showering is one of my favourite things to do everyday – including washing my hair. While I don’t tend to splurge too much on my hair/body stuff, I do like to try different products, and the drugstore has become a mecca for luxurious items at an affordable price point recently.

Dove brought out their Purely Pampering line a while ago, but it was only a few months back that I picked up the Pistachio Cream Body Wash as a nice, warm and sweet winter scent to use for bath time. I’ve said again and again how much I love the Laura Mercier Pistachio Scent, and while they do a corresponding body wash, it costs somewhere around $50. The Dove one smells surprisingly similar – it has the same rich aroma, with an undercurrent of the signature Dove scent. Apparently Dove has a corresponding body lotion, but it’s not sold in Canada. GRR!

After showering, I’ve been using the Vitabath Heavenly Coconut Creme Body Lotion. This is an interesting product, as the consistency sits somewhere between a watery lotion and a body butter. I didn’t really like it when I first got it, but now it’s grown on me, and the scent is lovely – warm coconut and not too sickly sweet.

The last item on my list is yet another OGX shampoo – they really are my favourite sulphate-free range at the drugstore, and while they’re more expensive than regular shampoo, they’re often on sale for $7-8. A couple months ago, I started seeing this new scent on the shelves, and decided to try it out. The Sensually Soft Tsubaki Blossom products are supposed to leave hair soft and sultry, as the name suggests. What I like about this in particular is that it cleans hair quite well without leaving the hair stripped, sitting somewhere between a hardcore clarifying shampoo and a more creamy, moisturizing formula. There’s also virtually no scent, so if you’re sensitive to that kind of thing, this is a good buy.

What have your recent shower/bath-time favourites been, and what should I try next?

2 thoughts on “New Shower Favourites from the Drugstore

Leave a Reply

