The Foundation Collection and Foundation Mixology

With all the whittling down and minimizing of my makeup collection, it is still slightly astounding that I have this many foundations. However, I’ve still operated off more or less a one-in-one-out system, as well as having various shades for different seasons, so here is the final collection for now:

One foundation I have kept around in my stash because of its colour rather than its formula is the CoverGirl Ready, Set, Gorgeous Fresh Complexion Oil Free Foundation. As you’ll see in the swatches below (swatched in the same order as pictured above), it’s slightly too light and pinky for me, so it’s a great mixer for those that are either too dark and/or too yellow, which I have a problem with overall. Once it’s used up, I won’t be repurchasing, but if you have normal skin, this is probably a great foundation, as it does last a long time on the skin.

I won’t go on and on because I’ve already posted at length about the L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte Foundation in various places on this blog. Still loving it, will repurchase forever. The only downside is that I need to mix two shades to get the right colour. Next up is another one I’ve blogged about recently, the Maybelline Fit Me Matte + Poreless Foundation, which is also quite good, but needs mixing with the CoverGirl due to the colour. Another far too yellow base is the CoverFX Custom Cover Drops in the shade N35, which is supposed to be neutral, but if that’s neutral, I don’t know what the warm shades are like in the line! I recently put the product into my 2015 un-favourites, but I do keep them around for experimentation purposes. I’ll likely never use it up, but for now, it’s sticking around in my collection.

Getting into my summer shades, there’s the Tarte Amazonian Clay Full Coverage Foundation, which I rarely use, to be honest. It doesn’t control oil as well as it claims, and while I like the colour of it, it does feel a bit heavy on the skin, so this is one I only pull out if I know I’ll be wearing makeup for a short amount of time.

Last, but not least is my almost used-up ultimate tan shade, which is the Benefit Better than BB Big Easy Foundation. I’ve been using this stuff for a long time and while I do love the formula, it’s obvious from the swatch below that the shade is far too dark for me, so I really need to get a good tan before I can use this.

Overall, it really seems I have a type – creamy, oil free foundations with medium coverage that come in a tube. What are your favourites and what drugstore/high-end products are must-haves in your collection?

Leave a Reply

