The Mid-Tone Berry Lip

My love affair with berry lips has been well-documented on this blog. Around this time last year I went a bit bonkers buying several of the exact same shade of deep plum lipstick in various forms and brands. Since the NYX store opened here, it’s been a slow discovery of products – the brand is well-represented by American beauty bloggers and YouTubers, but us Canadians were only able to access a limited selection at Rexall drugstores. Now, both the standalone store and Shoppers Drug Mart are carrying these products, so it’s gotten me really excited to try from a brand that has been previously quite difficult to source here in Canada.

A friend of mine has recently been professing her love for the Soft Matte Lip Creams. The only NYX product I’d ever tried was the Butter Gloss, which is a cult favourite, and for good reason, so I thought, based on that, their other lip products are probably half decent, so I ventured out and for $9 came back with the soft matte lip cream in the shade Prague, which is a lovely purple-plum shade that is a lot lighter than my usual berry offerings (I almost grabbed the shade Copenhagen). It may be officially spring, but as I sit here typing, there is a light blanket of snow covering the ground, so I figure it can’t be too wrong to be rocking a plum lip this far into the year, and with this shade being slightly lighter, it definitely works well into spring.

As for the formula, I’m not the biggest fan in general of liquid lipsticks, although being such a lipstick n00b in general it isn’t like I’ve tried that many of them – but this one is definitely a winner! It sits fairly comfortably on the lips, as far as a matte lipstick goes, and there’s some transfer, but nothing too crazy. It also re-applies really nicely – layering doesn’t cause bits to fall off or flake or get weird. The only complaint I really have about the thing is the doe foot applicator, but I figure it’ll just take some practice to get those precise lines.

Have you ever tried the NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams and what is your favourite shade?

3 thoughts on “The Mid-Tone Berry Lip

    • It definitely transfers more than a standard matte liquid lipstick, but I’m almost okay with it since my lips aren’t prunes by the end of the day 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

