Sheer Spring Lips

As spring is finally here – despite the relatively cold weather in these parts, I’ve been inspired to dig to the back of my lipstick drawer and pull out some favourites that I only really tend to wear during the warmer months. Sheer lipsticks are some of the easiest to wear – you barely need a mirror, they’re moisturizing and they make your lips look nice and juicy. The majority of the ones I have tend to be on the pink or coral side, which is a nice transition into summer, since I find matte lips to mostly be too much work in the summer when my face is melting off. They’re also less sticky than lip gloss, so I really do love me some sheer lips.

On the pink side, some of my faves include the Almay Smart Shade Butter Kiss in the shade 20 Pink-Light. The idea behind these is that they have lip shades (Berry, Pink, Nude and Red) for Light, Light/Medium and Medium skin tones, so that it takes the guesswork out for you. I most definitely tend more to the Light/Medium side of things, but this sheer pink shade is so lovely I think anyone can really get away with wearing it. It’s cool-toned without being too bubblegum, and the formula is super sheer and moisturizing so it’s comfortable to wear all day. Next is the Bite Beauty Lush Lip Kiss in the shade Juice, which is a great mid-tone pink and is intended to tint the lips while delivering a ton of moisturizing elements. A bit different is TheBalm’s Stainic, which I received a mini of in a BirchBox. It comes out feeling like jelly, and then dries down to a thin, comfortable stain on the lips. Last, and certainly not least, is the Maybelline Color Whisper in Pin Up Peach, which is basically just a warm-toned pink that feels somewhere between a lip balm and lipstick.

For the corals, I have another great Maybelline Color Whisper in Coral Ambition, which quite light but looks great with a tan. Another drugstore favourite is the Revlon Lip Butter in Juicy Papaya – pictured is my second tube of the stuff because I love it so much. It’s the perfect coral for most skin tones. If you want to go full orange, however, the Clarins Instant Light Lip Balm Perfector in 04 Orange is great. It looks intimidating in the tube, but because it’s so sheer, and depending on your natural lip colour, it ends up looking peachy-coral anyway.

What are your favourite spring lip colours?

Leave a Reply

