A Tale of Two Scrubs

I’m like a broken record this year. Spend less! Don’t buy impulsively! It’s almost necessary that I keep that up to myself, however, in order to ensure I’m not wasting too much money. One of the ways I’ve been trying to cut down on the dollars is by replacing high-end products with cheaper alternatives.

Recently, I managed to run out of both my morning and evening face washes, which were this Philosophy and this Clarins scrubs. When it comes to cleansers, I’m definitely pretty particular, but I figure that if I’m going to spend my money somewhere on my skincare, it’ll have to be on something that stays on my face instead of being washed off after 60 seconds, so I’m still willing to drop some cash at Sephora for serums and moisturizers and things. However, it made a ton of sense to me to start going for less expensive cleansers right away. I spent a lot of time roaming the aisles of Shoppers Drug Mart and Rexall, reading the backs of bottles, because as much as I love scrubs, there’s now the microbead controversy to worry about. I’d like to avoid contributing to that problem as much as possible.

Anyway, I picked up the Yes to Grapefruit Daily Facial Scrub as I’d heard good things about it. I really like it – it’s a great refreshing smell in the morning, and the scrubby bits are slightly larger and sparser than most scrubs, which is okay for the morning as I don’t want to get too rough with my skin right when I wake up. I’d definitely repurchase and/or try other scrubs from the Yes to line. I’ve always been interested in the Body Shop’s skincare lines and have used bits on and off over the years so when I needed a new cleanser I popped in there and picked up the Vitamin C Microdermabrasion exfoliator, which is more of a thick paste and contains tons of crushed crystal pieces for exfoliating. It’s definitely more intense of a scrub and is recommended to be used only once or twice a week. I might eventually get something gentler that I can use daily and then use this one the way it’s meant to be used, but for now I’ve been using it after I remove my makeup and it leaves my skin feeling great.

A note about daily scrubbing – I’ve mentioned this before on the blog but I often get told that I should stop doing that and switch to gentler methods of cleansing. I have very hardy skin and a ton of clogged pores / dead skin cells lingering so it’s necessary for me to exfoliate everyday. I’ve never had an issue with that and have tried the ‘gentler’ method. Result is more clogged pores and breakouts – ew.

What are your favourite drugstore exfoliators and what would you recommend?

One thought on “A Tale of Two Scrubs

  1. Pingback: More New Discoveries | The Face Wardrobe

Leave a Reply

