The Warm Weather Wardrobe

With the long weekend and warm weather coinciding here (sun, finally!), it’s about time I added some new products into my regular rotation to accommodate the change in seasons.

For skincare, I decided to try a different moisturizer that helps to mattify the skin and help keep blemishes at bay. The Ole Henriksen Vitamin Plus is specifically formulated to balance and regulate oil, while keeping skin properly hydrated. I’ve been using this for a few weeks now, and I find that it does quite a good job of reducing oil (nothing will ever get rid of it completely, I’m convinced) – it’s a slightly thicker cream that spreads and absorbs easily, and has a light herbal scent. Definitely not the cheapest product but a good one, and I’m interested in trying out the rest of the line now. SPF is also a must-have with blue skies and longer daylight hours, so I finally got around to picking up the La Roche Posay Anthelios SPF 60 Ultra-Fluid Lotion, which I mix into the Vitamin Plus so that I never get that ‘sunscreen’ feeling on my skin. It works great, and absorbs without feeling greasy or leaving a white cast. It hasn’t caused any breakouts so far, so I’m loving it and will re-purchase throughout the summer.

It’s almost time to go full-out with the brights and corals for lips and tips, but so far I’ve been loving some slightly muted options to get me in the mood. I’ve been wearing the American Apparel nail polish in Summer Peach pretty much non-stop. It’s not as orange as it looks in the bottle – it goes on exactly as the name sounds: peachy. For lips I recently did a Back to MAC and picked up Tropic Tonic lipstick, which is a matte coral that isn’t too bright and perfect for both spring and summer. I also picked up the L’Oreal La Lacque Shiny Full Coverage Lip Colour in 207 Lacque-y You, which is a deep raspberry that’s bright enough to wear year round. The formula isn’t overly ‘shiny’ and it’s super easy to apply to due to the narrow bullet. My one qualm with this product is that it smells like floral chemicals, which isn’t great. However, if you can get past that, this is a great lipstick.

What are your top picks for the warmer weather?

3 thoughts on “The Warm Weather Wardrobe

  1. I love to wear my Benefit Hoola Bronzer during the warmer months, along with MAC Lady Danger lipstick and all the highlight! I love the look of Tropic Tonic, will have to swatch that next time I visit MAC.
    Lucie xo | lucieleannexo.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: New Things I’ve Been Slapping on My Face | The Face Wardrobe

Leave a Reply

