New Things I’ve Been Slapping on My Face

It seems that I always tend to run out of stuff at around the same time, especially skincare-wise. I’ve been adding in a couple things here and there and trying some new stuff since part of my ‘no buy’ this year has been to use up as much as I can (which incidentally, limits the buying of new things). I recently ran out of my night serum and eye cream, so to replace them I headed over to Sephora and picked up the Ole Henriksen Invigorating Night Treatment, which is part of the same colour-coded line as the moisturizer I posted about a while ago. It’s a serum that’s chock-full of acids that are supposed to help resurface the skin overnight. So far I’ve been enjoying it, although the acids really make their presence known if you have any dry bits or active acne on your face – it definitely stings!

To replace my eye cream I decided to break into my stash of accumulated Birchbox items and try the 100% Pure Coffee Bean Caffeine Eye Cream, which I’m not sure is actually available in Canada – at least I haven’t seen it in any stores, though I’ve seen it sold in American drugstores for sure. The stuff smells absolutely divine and has a smooth, creamy texture that isn’t too rich. I haven’t noticed any de-puffing but I don’t have puffy eyes as a rule. It also sits well under makeup, which not all eye creams do. I’m not sure if it will be hydrating enough in the winter months, but for now I will continue to use it.

On the makeup front, I have a few new things that I had gotten as freebies or point perks from Sephora, so thought it was time to try. First up is the Make Up Forever HD Microfinish Powder, which I picked up ages ago in the last Sephora 20% sale. A friend of mine has been raving about this stuff for ages and I can see why. I use it to set my undereye concealer with a damp beautyblender and it is amazing. There’s no creasing or breaking apart of the concealer at all throughout the day. I’d highly recommend! Next is a mini of the Marc Jacobs Highliner Gel Eye Crayon that was part of the Sephora birthday gift this year. I had yet to break it open and decided to test it out on the weekend as I have never found an eyeliner in pencil form that has worked for me at all. Sad to say this guy smudges on me too – a little less than the traditional kohl versions, but I’ll be sticking to liquid liner for sure.

Lastly,since I ran out of my Bare Minerals one, I’ve been trying a new waterproof mascara top coat in the NYX Proof It!, which I find works okay but leaves a major white cast on the lashes, which is a very unattractive thing. I’ll be on the hunt for other drugstore options when I use this up or decide to get rid of it, sadly.

Have you tried any of these products and what did you think?

One thought on “New Things I’ve Been Slapping on My Face

Leave a Reply

