The Ultra Low-Key Face

We all have ’em. Those days when we need to go out and face the world but don’t feel like doing the full blend-swipe-brush face. It’s too hard and recently, it’s been way too hot. There’s been a bit of a heat wave where I live, so besides going to the office daily, I really can’t be bothered to do the full face when I’m going out for a movie, or to see friends, or whatever else on the weekend.

I’ve found some a few products that really speed up the getting ready process and make me look almost as put-together as usual. The first is the new CoverGirl Clean Matte BB Cream in Light Medium, which I’ve been using a bit and loving. It packs quite a punch in the coverage department, despite being a bb cream, and it dries down to a powdery-matte finish. It doesn’t need to be powdered or set, although the extra steps definitely help it last. And the colour match is almost spot on – it runs just slightly pink. But when I’m quickly slapping a layer of this stuff on my face with my fingers,there isn’t too much of a problem if I blend it down the neck. This is a perfect product for us oily gals, especially in the summer time.

I can’t leave the house without eyeliner, but when I don’t feel like doing the whole liquid liner preciseness, I take some of this Laura Mercier Caviar Stick Eye Colour in Cocoa, and smudge it along my lash line and blend it in with my fingers to give the illusion of a line and definition. Funnily enough, I can’t wear pencil eyeliner because it smudges on me, but cream eyeshadows stay put all day long.

And last but not least, I give my stick straight eyelashes a quick curl with the Shu Uemura Eyelash Curler, which is just the best and I’ve spoken about 100 times on the blog already.

What are your 1-minute face necessities and have you tried any of these products?

Leave a Reply

