More New Discoveries

The beauty lover’s life – it’s a constant hunt and chase for better products, cheaper alternatives, colour dupes, etc. “But aren’t you on a no buy this year?” Absolutely. But I’ve been using products up like crazy, so when it came time to replace them, it was no surprise that I found three more alternatives to products that have become staples in my beauty routine.

I previously posted about the Yes to Grapefruits Scrub, which I really like but the consistency of the scrub is quite watery, so it tends to dribble out of the tube quite a bit, which I’m not crazy about. So I decided to try a different scrub in the line – the Yes to Tomatoes Daily Pore Scrub for Combination Skin, which is a creamier, thicker formula with smaller particles – it’s a great scrub and the creaminess will be great going into the fall. I am really enjoying the Yes to! line, and am looking forward to trying more from the line.

Makeup remover is something I run out of frequently, and after having gone through several bottles of the same kind, I decided to try the Sephora Supreme Cleansing Oil, which is an alright price ($19 CAD for 6.4 oz). I have been pleasantly surprised, as it works the best out of all the oils I’ve tried, and a major plus – it doesn’t sting my eyes or leave a weird film. The only complaint I have is that it smells kind of like chemicals and it often gets in the mouth, which is very unpleasant. But I would definitely repurchase this as it takes off all my waterproof eye makeup with hardly any effort.

Lastly, I’ve gone on and on before about the Laneige Water Sleeping Mask, which I’ve gone through like crazy. I’ve been without for a while and not really loving the other alternative night creams I was pulling out of my stash, so when I was in the Korean grocery store last month, I picked up the Missha Near Skin Water Sleeping Mask, which I can only assume is a copycat version of the Laneige – it’s the same colour and a similar consistency. It doesn’t sink into the skin quite as well, but it’s been great so far and it’s a few dollars cheaper.

All in all it’s been a good month for new skincare finds. Have you tried any of these products and what are your recent skincare faves?

Leave a Reply

