Two New Masks

True to my resolutions for 2016, I’ve been using up a ton of my skincare and not buying random extras for no reason. Recently, I’ve been able to finish quite a few face masks as well as samples I’ve had for ages and ages (probably far too long), so much so that I actually was able to purchase new ones to add to my stash.

I’m a religious face mask-user – almost every night I try to do at least one, rotating between brightening, acne-fighting and soothing/moisturizing ones so that my skin doesn’t get too worn out. My aim is to have approximately one of each kind of mask so that I don’t get stuck with having to use too many at a time. I already have my holy grail Fresh mask that I’ve raved about, which is the best clay mask I’ve ever tried. But I wanted something that was geared more specifically to combating those pesky breakouts, so I headed over to the Body Shop and picked up their Tea Tree Skin Clearing Clay Mask. The texture of the mask is difficult to describe. It doesn’t dry as hard as most clay masks, since it’s both creamy and slightly sticky. I wouldn’t say this is my favourite mask yet but I will definitely keep using it and keep you updated on the results.

The other battle I have to fight is constant hyperpigmentation and acne scars on my face – masks with resurfacing acids come in very handy for this and I spent a lot of time looking for one that would work but not cost me an arm and a leg. I eventually stumbled on Herbivore’s Blue Tansy AHA + BHA Resurfacing Clarity Mask, which claims to clarify and smooth skin. It’s just as blue as one would imagine, and has quite a runny texture, so one doesn’t need a great deal of product to cover the face. There’s a definite tingle when it goes onto the skin, and when the mask is washed away, it leaves my face feeling unbelievably soft. I’m really enjoying using this mask and think it has made a noticeable difference so far.

What are your favourite face masks and have you tried either of these?

Leave a Reply

