2016 Un-Favourites

It’s the third and last post in my 2016 ‘Favourites’ series and we’ve finally come down to the few products that I really disliked or couldn’t get to work for me this past year. I don’t think I have any overly controversial products this time around, aside from maybe the Too Faced Better than Sex Waterproof Mascara. I’ve mentioned this before, but on my oily eyelids, it never stood a chance – there are smudges and smears everywhere, unfortunately. The NYX Proof It! Waterproof Mascara Top Coat did not help with this at all – it left white streaks on my eyelashes, and also did not make my mascara any less smudgy. If you’re looking for a waterproof top coat, I’d suggest checking out the Bare Minerals offering.

Another disappointment for me from NYX was the Dark Circle Concealer Corrector, which I have in the shade Light. I had been looking for a dupe for the Tarte Corrector, which is quite expensive, so when I found this little guy in the store, at only a third of the price of the Tarte, I figured I should give it a go. Shade-wise, the products are basically dupes. However, the similarities end there. The NYX corrector has a very light, oily texture, which I can’t really describe, but when I stick my finger in the pot, it kind of slides around and doesn’t pick up that much product. Whereas the Tarte one is more of a thick, gel-like consistency and is packed with pigment. I find that the NYX corrector on its own isn’t enough – I need to use a concealer over it. It also creases like crazy, so setting with a loose powder is definitely required.

One product that was a major fail for me was the L’Oreal Colour Riche La Lacque Lip Colour, which honestly, is fine as far as colour, pigmentation and application. I even like that it comes in a skinny pen form. But the scent of this product is so overwhelmingly bad that I can’t wear it. I’ve said before that I’m not a fan of scented products, especially lipsticks, because it can get in your mouth and you end up tasting the chemicals. The scent of this is doubly bad because it is both floral and chemical – a nasty combo that I can’t figure out at all. Just smelling it makes me feel kind of sick, much less applying the stuff all over my mouth.

My two last fails are from Quo, which is Shoppers Drug Mart’s own brand. Their fan brush is the first one I’ve bought in my collection, and to be honest I don’t like it very much because it’s too wide and the bristles too spaced out as well – so it doesn’t really apply highlighter in any concentration (and I’m not even that big on highlighter!). I think they have since replaced this brush with a new one, which I might try out eventually. The other Quo product is the Solid Brush Cleanser – I’m always looking for more affordable solid brush cleansers and this one just didn’t cut it. It’s okay for brushes, although even that takes a lot of work, but it doesn’t clean my beautyblender at all. It’s also not that much cheaper than the options at Sephora, so I will simply stick to those and not repurchase the Quo variety.

What have your disappointing beauty products of 2016 been?

Leave a Reply

