Blending it all Out…

Despite my never-ending love of cream eyeshadow, for both its convenience and ease of application (fingertip), I do really enjoy playing with my zillion powder eyeshadows sometimes. While I find it does take more time and work, having the right tools can change everything, especially for blending, which is key to making eyeshadow work. Over the years I’ve slowly acquired more and more blending brushes of various shapes and sizes which are great for various uses.

The largest blending brush I own is the NYX Pro Blending Brush (far left), which is actually quite dense, and is too big for my small crease space. I like to use this one to either add the absolute lightest transition shade to my eyes, or for a light wash of colour all over my lid. The next largest is the cult-favourite MAC 217 Blending Brush, which I use for the same purposes as the NYX. It’s not as dense, so it doesn’t pick up too much shadow at once, and blends really well. I like to use this as a final blending brush as well to finish a look. Very similar to this one in size, density and use is the Chikuhodo GSN-10 Eye Shadow brush. It’s lovely and I like to use this for blending medium crease shades, though it works really well for all over the lid too.

Probably my absolute favourite and cheapest brush is the ELF Crease Brush, which is small and light, so it pretty much blends anything you want. The next time I make an ELF order I’m going to buy about 5 more of these because they’re so affordable and great. I’ve also washed this brush about a million times and it has never lost its shape. Another great one that’s useful for more precise work is the Zoeva 231 Luxe Petit Crease, which I picked up while I was in Europe. It’s definitely more of a dense brush, but it does everything you need it to, blending-wise and it also acts as a larger pencil brush for smudging.

The smallest brush I own is an old one that they probably don’t sell anymore, but it’s an Estee Lauder eyeshadow brush I filched from my mom years and years ago. I don’t use it a ton so it’s still in great condition. It’s less dense than the Zoeva brush so it can be used for blending deeper colours easily.

What are your favourite eyeshadow brushes and what would you recommend?

Leave a Reply

