The Honey Duel

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Ahh honey… it’s one of the most unique ingredients out there, and lately I’ve come to really appreciate its use in skincare. Over the past few months I’ve picked up a couple of very popular and raved about masks that are designed to have a multitude of benefits, and I’ll have to agree with most of them.

The Antipodes Aura Manuka Honey Mask is a longstanding favourite of skincare junkies everywhere – it’s just not exactly easy to pick up in Canada, since it’s a New Zealand brand. However, it’s available now online from a few different sources, so for sure I’ll be going to one of those when I run out! Since honey has anti-bacterial properties, this mask is meant to help those with blemish-prone skin. Honey is also very moisturizing, so I just love that this helps to keep acne at bay without drying things out too much. A few years ago I was really into the mud mask types but it seems like as I get older, my skin is a lot drier than it used to be in certain places. I’ve been using this mask about 1-2 times a week and it’s made my skin a lot clearer. I highly recommend this to anyone who suffers from breakouts!

Another honey-based mask that’s received a lot of hype is the much newer Farmacy Honey Potion Renewing Antioxidant Hydration Mask, which is meant to both hydrate the skin and make it glow. It has the oddest texture – it comes out of the jar as a yellow paste, but as it’s massaged into the skin it turns white and tingly. I’d say if you have sensitive skin, get a sample of this before spending all your dollars. When the mask is washed off, it leaves my skin feeling really soft and smooth. I’m not exactly sure of the ingredients, but the way it feels is like an acid peel; I like to put a soothing moisturizer on after using this mask so that my skin doesn’t get too irritated.

I’d recommend both for various reasons, but will likely only be repurchasing the Antipodes mask. Have you tried either/both of these masks? And what other honey products would you recommend?

Leave a Reply

